Can I install a NVIDIA GeForce 9400M or later into my macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by JyJy, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. JyJy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to find out if it's possible to install a NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics card into my 13" 2.4GHz macbook. Is at all possible to play Left 4 Dead 2 on this system?

    Thank you, in advance, everyone. :)
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    The GPU is soldered onto the logic board, thus it's not upgradeable.
     
  3. JyJy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #3
    :(

    Thanks HellHammer!

    So basically, the people at Best Buy are lying about getting the upgrade card? Or lying about installation?
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    More likely they don't have a clue;they are just salespeople with little technical knowledge. They would probably sell you a desktop GPU that requires two slots if you asked.
     
  5. JyJy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Thanks guys! Is there ANY way to play this darn game on my computer? Other than purchasing a new system that is...

    You folks are swell, btw!
     
  6. flopticalcube, Nov 21, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010

    flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Under windows on bootcamp in software vertex mode at lowest settings.
     
  7. coochiekuta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    here and there
    #7
    onboard graphics shouldnt inhibit you from using discrete graphics. however i am unfamiliar with your mobo so it may not be possible to install the card. afterall you cant install it if theres no place for it.
     
  8. al2o3cr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #8
    Wow, that site really goes out of it's way to make me feel like I'm going to get QUALITY SOFTWARE when I click on the links. Something about the JS popup when I load the page, the Mediafire link to download software supposedly by Intel, or the marquee on the page heading...
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    Yeah, perhaps not the best source. Intels Windows driver should be able to do that automatically.
     
  10. JyJy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #10
    Left 4 Dead 2

    So I should go to Intel Windows site, and download what? I'm sorry, I'm confused... :(
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    You will need to run Windows natively. It won't work under OSX. You will need a legit copy of Windows XP (SP2), Vista or 7 and at least 30GB of disk space and use Bootcamp Assistant to install. Once Windows is installed, get the latest video driver from Intel.
     

Share This Page