Can I install FCP4 on an old G5 with Lion

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andyhutch1947, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. andyhutch1947 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #1
    I purchased an old G5 that has been upgraded to Lion 10.7.4 or the OS prior to this. I use to have a similar G5 in 2006 with Final Cut Pro 4 installed. I kept all of my disks when I sold the G5.

    Is it possible to install FCP4 to this G5? If not, which OS is compatible with FCP4 on this G5?

    Thanks
    Andy
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    Final cut pro 4 will run on a G5. Just FYI though, the best OSX you could be running on a G5 is 10.5 Leopard. Snow Leopard and Lion will not run on PowerPC based computers....
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Since this in the Mac Pro section, I assume you have a Mac Pro, and not a G5 PowerMac. Lion would also not run on a PowerMac, it requires an Intel Mac (any new Mac since 2006).
    Since FCP 4 was released in 2003 and is using PPC code, you need to run Mac OS X 10.6 on it, as 10.7 does not have Rosetta anymore, the tool to run PPC only software.
    If it is a pre 2010 Mac, you can get the 29 USD Snow Leopard DVD from the Apple Online Store or Amazon and install that on your Intel Mac Pro.
    Or you can find a used version of Final Cut Studio 1, which includes Universal Binary versions of FCP and other applications, though you might need a trick to fool the installer, as the installer is still a PPC installer as far as I know.

    Was the above understandable?
     
  4. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Yes. As far as "legacy" FCP goes, only FCS 3 (FCP 7) has an Intel-based installer.
     
  5. andyhutch1947 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #5
    I was guessing at the OS that is currently installed but as soon as I find me a monitor cable I will fire it back up. I had the guy at the store where I purchased it from fire it up but I don't think I checked the OS on the G5. I still have the FCP3 disk, Studio Pro 2 & 3 disk, but depending on what OS is installed I may have to buy the 10.5 Leopard disk.

    Thanks to all for your information.

    Is there a forum for the elderly G5?

    Andy
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    So it is indeed a G5 PowerMac? Does it have one or two SuperDrive doors on the front panel?
     
  7. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #7
    Yes there is a PowerPC forum..
     

Share This Page