Can i install gtx 285 on my mac pro ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tomtomtotal, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. tomtomtotal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #1
    evega gtx 285 (mac)

    System Info:

    MAC osx 10.6.3


    System Profiler:

    Modellname: Mac Pro
    Modell-Identifizierung: MacPro1,1
    Prozessortyp: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    Prozessorgeschwindigkeit: 2,66 GHz
    Anzahl der Prozessoren: 2
    Gesamtzahl der Kerne: 4
    L2-Cache (pro Prozessor): 4 MB
    Speicher: 8 GB
    Busgeschwindigkeit: 1,33 GHz
    Boot-ROM-Version: MP11.005D.B00
    SMC-Version (System): 1.7f10




    Typ: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Steckplatz: Slot-1
    PCIe-Lane-Breite: x16
    Hersteller: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Geräte-ID: 0x05e3
    Versions-ID: 0x00a1
    Information zur Kernel-Erweiterung: Keine Kext geladen
    Monitore:
    Monitoranschluss:

    I have install the driver not working yet ? (pacifist; kexthelper)

    :confused:


    what was wrong?

    or are 800GHZ ram necessar?

    im looking forward for many answers, thanks allot ;)
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    No. The 1,1 Mac Pro uses 32 Bit EFI and the 285 GTX requires 64 bit.

    You can only use the 285 GTX in Mac Pro 2008 or later.
     
  3. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #3

    cant i switch the efi on 64 bit? which card fits without problems?
     
  4. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  5. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #5

    32bit driver for 285 ?
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    You are not listening mate? :)

    The 285 DOES NOT WORK in the 2006 (1,1) Mac Pro.

    It's not a driver issue. It's a firmware issue. Firmware that is on a motherboard chip in the Mac. Which only carries 32-bit EFI. And there is no way to upgrade it.

    It states on the Apple Store:

    "System requirements
    Mac Pro (Early 2009 with 1066Mhz DDR3) or Mac Pro (Early 2008 with 800Mhz DDR2 FB-DIMM memory)

    "
     
  7. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #7
    with windows xp on this mac, its running ?!

    i test it games, working, i havent got any problems
     
  8. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #8
    it's just cause apple doesn't provide any 32bit driver
     
  9. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    ...you are not even listening to me.


    ....


    It's not a driver issue.
    The reason you can boot Windows is because your Mac Pro will emulate BIOS. BIOS can initialize the card without problem.

    But OSX uses EFI. And your GPU only uses 64-bit EFI while your Mac only understands 32-bit.

    You can read more about EFI here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=877441
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    The ONLY WAY to use a GTX285 in an EFI32 Mac is to use Netkas little hack AND another REAL EFI32 Nvidia card.

    Why not try that little box in upper right corner of this page? It is labeled "Search Forums"
     
  11. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #11
    can i use Radeon HD 4870 or higher with flashing ?

    what is the highest card for my system ?
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    The HD4870 (directly from Apple)/4890 is possible, as it's ROM contains firmware that will work in either EFI32 or EFI64 systems.

    As per flashing, it's possible, but you need to be sure the card will work, as the ROM chip (actual chip that contains the firmware - capacity can be different, resulting in it's unable to contain it) or some other aspect of the card (change from ATI's reference design) is different.

    It's tricky finding the right model, and most cards now are modified from the reference design. As it's been mentioned, try using the search function. There's entire threads on this.

    You could also look into Netkas's injector method as well (no flashing involved).

    Your best bet in the long run however, may be to look for a newer system (EFI64 based). EFI32 based systems already have limitations for graphics cards, and soon will with OS X as well (when they discontinue the K32 versions = 32 bit Kernel; SL has both K32 and K64, and Apple's not going to continue with this for very long, and have clearly indicated this is the case = 10.7 may or maynot, but by 10.8 for sure you'll be out in the cold).

    Good luck. :)
     
  14. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #14
    I'm frustrated

    technically seen it is possible, use 64bit cards...


    .. because apple not released efi firmware update, for mac pro gen 1 :mad:

    and I still do not know what to buy
     
  15. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    Your best bet is to buy an ATi Radeon HD 4870 and flash; check the link Cindori provided in his last post. Otherwise your alternative is to buy from Apple, but even if you do, Apple will not warranty the drive citing it is not compatible with the Mac Pro 1,1 (even if the card has hardware issues).
     
  16. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #16
    http://www.neon24.de/Komponenten/Gr...1024MB-Sapphire-Radeon-HD4870-LRT::24628.html


    or

    http://direkt.jacob-computer.de/Gra...DMI_-_TV_O_artnr_242455.html?direkt=1&ref=124


    can i flash this card for my mac pro 1.1 ?
     
  17. skotopes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Location:
    default city
    #17
    sapphire - yes. But make shure that you have right bios for flashing. This card exists in several different editions: with hynix memory and quimonda.

    and one more thing that will annoy: power cable warning.

    bios for card with qimonda ram
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=9636856&postcount=2329
     
  18. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    Nor will Apple ever do so. EFI-64 requires a completely different firmware chip than the one found on the Mac Pro 1,1 (2006) and 2,2 (2007). The chip is physically soldered onto to the logic board. It won't accept an EFI-64 ROM, nor can the chip be replaced. It simply can't be done.

    As stated before, the fastest card known to boot into OS X with your Mac Pro is a flashed Radeon 4890 based on the reference card design and those are getting harder and harder to find. Your best shot in getting faster cards to work is with an EFI-64 based Mac Pro (2008 or above).
     
  19. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #19
    any source as to why the chip would not be able to contain 64bit efi? as long as someone compiled 64bit EFI for MP 1,1, it'be no problem flashing it to the chip afaik.
     
  20. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #20
    This occurs even with the right cabling (i.e. get the mini 6 pin to standard 6 pin PCIe power cables initially created for the X1900 either from ATI or Svideo.com)?

    It's technically possible to replace the existing ROM chip on the board (with the right equipment and skills), but Apple will never write the firmware in EFI64 for those systems.

    Extracting the firmware from an '08 might work, but it's not exactly correct given the different parts used on the board (i.e. different chipset and resulting CPU microcode is a little different too, though the '08 systems can run some of the 53xx series CPU's). It would be a substantial gamble to attempt IMO.

    In the long run, a new system is definitely needed, and not just for graphics cards. EFI32 won't support newer versions of OS X for much longer (if at all, depending on whether K64 ONLY occurs in 10.7 or 10.8).
     
  21. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #21
  22. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #22
  23. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  24. tomtomtotal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #24

    i havent got find it :D


    I want to go only safe

    whether this will work with the model

    with rom from you package

    XFX ZWFL & ZWFC

    nothing else
     
  25. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    Seems as if the little boy didn't have sex for a loooong long time.
    Why so offensive?

    This is a forum, if you don't like users asking for help, than this is definitely the wrong place for you.
     

Share This Page