Can I install Microsoft Office on Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by burnttoast0304, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. burnttoast0304 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I was wondering if whether I could install Microsoft Office on the Mac using the Mac OSX?

    thanks
     
  2. iwuzbord macrumors 6502

    iwuzbord

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #2
    of course you can!

    microsoft office 2008 for mac does just that :cool:
     
  3. wesleyJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    #3
    Um, yes. Given that you own Microsoft Office 2008 for Mac.
     
  4. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #4
    If PC version need to install Windows first.

    If you want to run Office on OS X, buy the Apple/Mac version.
     
  5. burnttoast0304 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #5
    ohh there is a Mac Version....

    I guess i'll have to go out and buy that
     
  6. burnttoast0304 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #6

    Hey perfect thank you, this was what I was looking for
     
  7. Kane.Elson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #7
    You can install MS Office 2008 designed for mac but it is crap for anything more than the basics. Another option is to install windows in something like vmware fusion or parallels and run office 2003/2007 from there....
    Vmware fusion does some amazing things to integrate the windows applications into your osx environment. But of course it does cost money, there is a student discount though.
     
  8. hogfaninga macrumors 65816

    hogfaninga

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Chestnut Tree Cafe
    #8
    I agree. I use the real MS Office using Vista from bootcamp. There is a big difference between the reg Office and the Office for Mac IMO. Some compatibility issues as well.
     
  9. Herins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #9
    I'm sorry if this is a dumb question. I just bought Office for Mac 2008 for my new macbook. Office says it needs 1.5 GB of available hard disk space. Where exactly am I looking to make sure I have enough space? Is it Memory in the hardware overview?
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    Wirelessly posted via a group of monkeys using a typewriter / Ribbon 1.1 / Paper 2.0
    At the bottom of any finder window it will tell you how much space you have.
     
  11. Herins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #11
    Sorry, I started a new thread cuz I realized I shouldn't have added my question on to someone else's.
     

Share This Page