Can I install more RAM and a new SSD at the same time?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by spacejockey85, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. spacejockey85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #1
    I will be installing both of these components and buying them together. My question is can they be installed at the same time?

    I plan to completely re-install the OS, just copying over music and documents from my old HDD to the new SSD.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
  3. spacejockey85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #3
    Great thanks. I wasn't sure if there would be some sort of conflict between installing two new pieces of hardware.
     
  4. JHUFrank macrumors 6502a

    JHUFrank

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
  5. spacejockey85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
  6. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #6
    I did exactly that on my Mini, I see no reason not to be able to do so with a MBP. One word of caution, when you replace multiple components at the same time, if there's a problem you end up with more troubleshooting as you now need to eliminate TWO or more components.
     
  7. JHUFrank macrumors 6502a

    JHUFrank

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #7
    Very nice! That is what my wife uses and you will only get it from her if you pry it out of her dead cold hands. She loves the damn thing. It is due for a new battery.
    I know there are some issues with which models of drives use trim, and the ram can be finicky, however, my wife has been the happiest with the Seagate Hybrid drive. She really likes the performance and doesn't have any issues. I put several 256 and 512 gig SSD drives in the thing and she didn't like them.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Well, there's prudent and then there's possible.

    Personally, I'd upgrade one item, verify it works and then move on to the second - just for the sake isolating any possible issues
     
  9. randy98mtu macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #9
    This is what I do. You can swap the memory, snap the bottom on without any screws and turn it on to make sure everything is ok. Then do the drive.
     
  10. spacejockey85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    #10
    Do I need to copy over the HDD to the new SSD. I wanted a completely new SSD, just the OS; I've lost the boot up discs though. Is this going to be a problem?
     
  11. iososx macrumors 6502a

    iososx

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    This is excellent advice. It's how I've done upgrading for years. If you have a problem you're assured you know exactly what component is causing it because you've only changed one. It's a time saver.
     
  12. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #12
    Do you have an 8 GB flash drive? If so, you can re-download the installer for Mavericks or Yosemite (whichever you choose) then use the Creatinstallmedia capability to create the bootable flash drive to install the OS.

    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201372

    CAUTION! This WILL erase the flash drive!
     

Share This Page