Can I install Windows 7 on an SSD in the optical bay?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cmd-the-World, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. Cmd-the-World macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #1
    I bought a Corsair F120 SSD believing that it's 2.5'' to 3.5'' adapter was enough for me to connect the SSD to the drive bay. However I realised that it can not connect to the drive bay due to lack of holes in the bottom of the adapter.

    My question is this can I attach the SSD to the optical bay and install Windows 7 x64 on it? (I am still waiting for the Mac Pro but it's the base quad model 2010) I know that in the 2008 model the ODD_SATA ports cannot be used to boot up Windows or Linux. Is this a problem with the 2010 Mac Pro?

    I don't wish to use the IcyDock converter as there quite a few negative reviews.
     
  2. Waragainstsleep macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The SSD will work fine in the optical bay. Boot Camp used to be fussy about installing anywhere but the Mac Boot drive not sure if thats the case or not anymore.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    It will work. You don't even need to use Boot Camp, if the disk is only to be used for Windows (BC = partition tool that allows both OS X and Windows/Linux to share the same drive). :)
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Well, you don't need to use the Boot Camp partitioning utility, but you'll need the Boot Camp drivers at the very least.

    SSD in optical bay of the 2010 Mac Pro is fine. I don't know about older Mac Pros, I think they may have older IDE PATA connections there instead of SATA.
     
  5. Cmd-the-World thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for your help :)

    I was reading the Boot Camp installation Guide, the Macbook Air version as it has more detail and is still applicable for the Mac Pro, to see what steps I can skip.

    So as your are saying I can start with Boot camp to download the required drivers and then skip the step were I need to partition the drive and just start installing Windows from the DVD. Am I right in my thinking? I am asking just to make sure that I have understood correctly.
     
  6. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #6
    Hate to give yet another conflicting opinion but it may not work. The ODD ports can't be booted into Windows, unless someone actually fixed that AHCI driver issue.
     
  7. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #7
    Huh?

    I've had Bootcamp installed on a secondary drive for years. (Traditional hard drive)

    Are you confusing BootCamp and Parallels?
     
  8. Cmd-the-World thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #8
    Thanks for the info. I read something myself about this matter but they were referring to the 2008 model where the optical drives were IDE and it had additional SATA ports on the Motherboard for future expansion. I don't know if this is still the case with the 2010 model. Can anyone confirm this for me please.

    Does anyone know of a good reliable caddy that I can use to attach the SSD to the Drive Bay?

    I came across this wire:
    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/t...xtension-cable-combined-data-power-33651.html

    I was thinking of keeping the SSD in the Optical Bay (if I don't find a good caddy and the previous describe method does not work) and connect it with this wire to the Drive Bay.
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    There's a work-around for AHCI around here somewhere... :eek: :p

    The optical bay will boot a Windows or Linux disk in a 2009 or 2010 MP.

    As per a mount, you can skip one all together as there's no moving parts, buy one (any 5.25" to 3.5" adapter + 3.5" to 2.5" adapter if needed), or DIY something (such as velcro or zip ties).
     
  10. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I wouldn't bother with the DIY, just leave the thing dangling :p
     
  11. Cmd-the-World thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #11
    Since it works I don't need to do any DIY. I am going to place the SSD in the Optical Bay and attach it with its own 2.5'' to 3.5'' mount.

    Thank you all for your help :)
     
  12. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
  13. Cmd-the-World thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for reminding me I forgot about that fact. Trying to imaging a solution with out having the actual hardware in front of you sure leads to mistakes.

    I will use this product to attach the SSD.

    http://www.akasa.com.tw/update.php?...olutions&type_sub=HDD Cooler&model=AK-HD-03BK

    So I will set it up like this: The SSD is going to be mounted on its 2.5'' to 3.5''. The the mount is going to be connected to the cooler in order to fit in the 5.25" Optical Bay. The SSD would connect to one of the SATA cables present for an Optical Drive.
     
  14. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    Overkill. You just need a 5.25" to 3.5" mount, then a 2.5" to 3.5" mount, and attach them together (SSD's don't generate the heat of mechanical disks).

    Each of the ODD bays has a single cable that contains both the data and power signals (aka backplane connector). Just plug it in the drive, and you're done. ;)
     
  15. tomllama macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #15
    My SSD is simply sitting in the lower bay of my MP4,1. No mount is needed - just plug it in and let it dangle or, if you feel the need, use some velcro.

    And yes, Win7 x64 and OSX boot just fine from it.
     
  16. Cmd-the-World thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #16
    I quite agree but that was the only mount that was available at the time.

    Thank you all for your help. The Mac Pro arrived today :) and everything ran like clock work. :D
     
  17. Riot Nrrrd macrumors regular

    Riot Nrrrd

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Location:
    Lost Androideles
    #17
    Dan, did you check out OWC's optical bay mounts? That's what I'm going to buy (now that you guys have helped me in my own thread, I can return the favor ;) ). Only US $30 ...

    OWC Multi-Mount 2.5" to 3.5" and 3.5" to 5.25" bracket set for 2009-2010 Mac Pro

    [​IMG]
     
  18. mif macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    home
    #18
    i am still waiting native bd. second bay is for blu ray drive, for me, at least.
     

Share This Page