Can I install Windows XP on my mbp?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sarawr, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. sarawr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #1
    I know it's out dated, but I've had nothing but problems trying to get Windows 7 to install & I hate Vista with a passion. I'm only going to be using Windows to run a few games.

    I have a base line 15" 2010 MBP. Can I install XP on it, and if so will my Snow Leopard disc have the needed drivers for it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. MJNBGA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Oh yes, of course. Make sure that you get the 32 bit, beause I'm not sure that the 2010 MacBook Pros support 64 bit. Not sure though, so check with :apple:. Gibe them a ring... Or drop them a line... :D
     
  3. sarawr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #3
    Thanks :D I only asked because I read the 2011 don't support xp.
     
  4. Resqu2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #4
    What are the problems? I'm running Win7 on my IMac and my MBP and both were just to easy to install. On my IMac I'm using Bootcamp and Parallels and my MBP Is just using Parallels.
     
  5. Big D 51 macrumors 6502a

    Big D 51

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #5
    Yes you can. I have it installed on parallels and bootcamp. I choose bootcamp if I'm going to be in windows for a long period of time, and parallels if I'm not.

    Bootcamp has an option to download all the drivers you need.
     
  6. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #6
    You should install 7, newer games requiring DX 10/11 will not run on XP

    The 2010 MBP is 64-bit
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    The problem with 64-bit XP is that there's basically no functional drivers for all the Apple hardware. 64-bit Vista/Win 7 works fine.
     
  8. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #8
    right... I said to install 7 then corrected someone who wasn't sure about the 2010's being 64-bit compatible...
     

Share This Page