iPhone Can I jailbreak a brand new iPhone 5

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by slickone, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. slickone, Nov 24, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014

    slickone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #1
    I have a brand new iPhone 5 never turned on , model a1428. I am firmilur with jailbreaking but not sure if it's possible since this new Apple update. Can somebody please help me out with the process so I don't mess it up. The phone is not activated or anything yet so still has the iOS it came with new.
    Thanks a billion
     
  2. Grolubao macrumors 65816

    Grolubao

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Depends, which version does it came with?
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Yes, you can.
    Even if you update it to the highest ios version it can go you can still JB it.
     
  4. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #4
    I thought there is no jailbreak for the 8.1.1 or .2. Whatever it is. This isn't my phone and if I mess it up I'm gonna get messed up

    ----------

    How can I find out if u don't mind me asking?. I'll be back in in 45 min, I ran outta oil, it's cold lol.
     
  5. Ken Kaniff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #5
    If it's an iPhone 4 it won't have iOS 8 on it. If it's a 4S it might.

    Settings>General>About>Version...

    Honestly, and I don't mean to be condescending here, if you don't know how to figure out what version you're on, you really probably should not try your hand at jailbreaking just yet.
     
  6. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    you thought right about 8.1.1 but the iPhone for is not compatible with iOS8 so it will not hve 8.1.1
     
  7. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #7
    Thanks for the reply, it's not that I can't jailbreak, I'm using my iPad that I just jail broke right before this new update came out with pangu but I don't know what I should do with this iPhone 4s because it has never been turned on before, it takes me to the setup screen to hook up to iTunes or wifi. If I connect it to iTunes or wifi it's prob gonna want me to update to the newest iOS which there is no jailbreak for , so that is my issue. I know it's on lower then iOS 8 so I need some steps I should take for how to go about it

    ----------

    So if I update the iPhone , it won't put it on iOS 8?
     
  8. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #8
    when you turn it on skip all the steps to sign into icloud, dont setup a passcode, choose set up as new phone, once you get to the home screen go to settings, general, about...let us know what version the phone is on and you we can assist you on next steps

    ----------

    well now you are calling it a 4s which is compatible with 8 so DO NOT update it or it will put 8.1.1 on it
     
  9. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #9
    And actually when I look up the model for it a1428 , am I right when it says it's iPhone 5?

    ----------

    That's what I thought so how do I get it to main screen from first start up without updating it bac it ask me to hook it up to iTunes or wifi?
     
  10. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #10
    Post a picture of it. But if you can't tell what kind of iPhone you have or what version of iOS it is running you really shouldn't try to jailbreak it.
     
  11. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #11
    A1428 is the iphone 5 GSM model
     
  12. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
  13. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #13
    Lol I just said the same thing to the women, thank you so much for letting me know tho, now I know for sure, so my issue now is it wants to activate with valid sim
     
  14. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
  15. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #15
    Then do not JB it.
     
  16. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #16
    Put in your sim card and activate it then, activating it doesn't upgrade it.
     
  17. Ken Kaniff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #17
    So is it a 4, 4S or 5? OP has no clue what he's doing, therefore my earlier suggestion still stands.

    Do not attempt to alter this phone, OP.
     
  18. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #18
    It'd be cool if it turns out to be running iOS 6!
     
  19. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #19
    U have no idea why ur talking about or u wouldn't tell me to go to settings if I have to past activation screen, it's gotta be running hight then 7 bc it has the green call button with phone icon (which is circle)
     
  20. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #20
    were you able to successfully activate the device?
     
  21. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #21
    I don't have a micro sim, the women will be pissed if I cut sim. I tried to use the ienvade program but when I try to download it's just the survey crap before download which doesn't work

    ----------

    No I need a micro sim unless there's a glitch or program. It's jailbreakable if I can get past activation screen. It's very fusterating

    ----------

    I tried this but I can't find the program without having to do survey which doesn't work when u do the survey, it won't give download link https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5eQnzp-ehPk
     
  22. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #22
    If you don't have a sim what are you planning on doing with it when you get it jailbroken?
     
  23. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #23
    I Plan on giving it back to by boss and he can get one then, I forgot about the stupid activation part

    ----------

    There has to b a way to bypass activation though
     
  24. slickone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    #24
    So does anyone have a way to bypass activation ?
     
  25. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #25
    Find someone to borrow a sim from.
     

Share This Page