Can I JB? Should I do it now or wait?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by leons, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    Got my phomne replaced today because of broken silent switch.

    3GS non-refurb week 47 build [new bootrom I guess :mad: ] 3.1.2 f/w

    Can I Jailbreak(tethered)/unlock? Using what tools? I have Windows.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    You should be able to JB/UL, but be careful. If it fails, you will be forced to go to 3.1.3.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=833099

    Edit: Without SHSH saved, you cannot JB to 3.1.2 Sorry for the idiot moment !
     
  3. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #3
    I know it's "too late" to save ECID/SHSH in Cydia, but isn't there some file or "state" that I could save myself in the event of a future restore?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    If you JB to 3.1.3 firmware, you should be able to save SHSH for 3.1.3 (but if it were me, I would JB to 3.1.2 (with much caution)

    Edit: Without SHSH saved, you cannot JB to 3.1.2 Sorry for the idiot moment !
     
  5. Tu13es macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #5
    Unfortunately, no. The file has to be signed by Apple, and they aren't signing 3.1.2 requests anymore.
     
  6. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #6
    dhlizard:

    re: your edits

    so, I have NEW bootrom, and currently 3.1.2 WITHOUT SHSH saved.

    So, this phone CANNOT be JB/Ulocked?
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    JB to 3.1.3 only Pwnage Tool 3.1.5

    Some are posting Blacksn0w doesn't unlock 5.11.xx when firmware is at 3.1.3, so I don't know for sure.
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    Wait...DH, I think you're getting yourself confused here. It is still entirely possible to jailbreak a 3.1.2 3GS with the new bootrom using redsn0w. Redsn0w does not require a restore, nor does it require previous jailbreaking. It is not possible to use PwnageTool or a custom firmware to jailbreak such a phone on 3.1.3; pwnage tool requires that a phone be pwned, and a 3GS with the new bootrom cannot be pwned.

    Also, once you have jailbroken with redsn0w, it is easy to put in your request SHSH request in Cydia; Saurik is not saving 3.1.3 hashes yet, but as soon as he does he will get it. You do not have to be on the 3.1.3 firmware for Saurik to request and save your 3.1.3 SHSH.

    OP: You can jailbreak your phone on 3.1.2 using redsn0w or blackra1n (I suggest redsn0w), not PwnageTool. Do not upgrade to 3.1.3. You will have a tethered jailbreak. You can also unlock using blacksn0w. Be aware that if you ever need to restore your phone you will be forced to restore to 3.1.3 and lose your ability to jailbreak and unlock. Because you don't have your 3.1.2 SHSH on file with Saurik (and it is too late to get it on file), you will not be able to restore to 3.1.2. So be careful what you do with your phone.
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    thelatinest is correct. Redsn0w will do what you want. My error again !
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Is okay. I've gotten myself twisted around a couple of times on the same issue. I could see just where you talked yourself into disbelieving something you already knew. So hard to remember who can do what and how; that's why I created my Jailbreak Selection Made Simple and So You "Accidentally" Upgraded to 3.1.3. Now What? threads. I needed a central place I could look to find out what I already knew!
     
  11. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #11
    Thanks guys! I don't feel so bad being confused now; when experts like you can get confused, imagine what it feels like for us "non-experts" like me!

    Just to restate (also for the benefit for other newbies):

    1. There is currently (as of 2/10/10) NO JB or UL for 3GS/3.1.3/New Bootrom
    2. redsn0w can JB/blacksnow can UL a 3GS/3.1.2/New Bootrom. HOWEVER, it will be a tethered JB, AND if the JB/UL goes "bad", or other reasons force a restore in the future, I will be forced to upgrade to 3.1.3 since shsh is not on file.

    Did I get all that right?

    Now for some expert advice please. I need/want JB over the long term. But I am willing to live without it for a while IF it is a better choice over the long run. So, which is a better choice for the long term JB stability of my 3GS?:

    1. Take the "risk" of a JB (or other future event) going bad, and JB with redsn0w now, and get my shsh for 3.1.3 on file.

    OR

    2. Wait a while for a "better" JB solution and/or a method to restore (if needed) without shsh, or a JB solution for 3.1.3, thereby eliminating the "worry" of a resore (but in this scenario, delaying the saving of 3.1.3 shsh since I would delay JB).

    I would prefer to JB now, but is there any advantage to opt for choice #2 and wait?
     
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Thanks for your kind words, but I am far from an expert. I made two judgement errors in one thread. That is a record for me. :mad:

    Thankfully, others corrected me. I hate being responsible for wrong advice. My apologies.
     
  13. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #13
    bump, for mistake on my title (cannot be modified)

    any opinions on my question above? :)
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    Hit Edit, then click Go Advanced and you can edit the thread title.
     

Share This Page