Can I keyframe a color correction in FCP X?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by oxband, Aug 18, 2016.

  1. oxband macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #1
    I filmed an interview using natural light and the clouds occasionally got in the way so I need to boost the exposure of some of the levels. That said, it happens gradually and I dont want to give my client a video where the color suddenly jumps.

    Any way to keyframe a color correction so I have it come and go gradually? If I can't do this with FCP X, can I do this with Color Finale? I was thinking of getting it anyways and this might put me over the edge.

    thanks!
     
  2. Cineplex macrumors 6502a

    Cineplex

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #2
    You could split the clip, make the correction, and use a dissolve between clips to gently ease into the change. I've done that a few times for similar situations.
     
  3. dorsal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    #3
    Do color corrections in a mask, then keyframe the mask.
     
  4. Pow! macrumors member

    Pow!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    I use Coremelt’s Chromatic, but Color Finale will work the same way: simply keyframe the ‘Mix’ parameter in the Inspector from 0 to 100 or vice versa.

    Unfortunately keyframing a shape mask won’t work as a gradual change, since you can’t keyframe opacity, only position and feather.
     
  5. Boyd01, Oct 21, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2017

    Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #5
    I have also been frustrated by the lack of color correction keyframing. Recently I've been using a $25 plug-in from FCPEffects called "quick color". Not so crazy about the user interface that overlays big color wheels on the video so I just turn that off. But you can keyframe all the parameters in the inspector and it works really well. You have a standard Apple picker for the high/mid/low colors and sliders for high/low/mid levels. Then there are some additional keyframe-able parameters as well. I use this along with the standard FCP masks for some pretty complex effects and am moving away from using the built-in FCP color correction feature.

    BTW, I like CoreMelt's stuff - recently got their SliceX and have found it very useful (although it crashes FCP more often than I would prefer). But they do have free trials of all their software, 15 days fully functional IIRC, so it's worth giving them a try. I actually downloaded Chromatic awhile ago but didn't install it because it didn't appear that it would give me the kind of keyframing capability I wanted.
     
  6. joema2 macrumors 65816

    joema2

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    #6
    This assumes you want a keyframed exposure correction, not color. You just duplicate the clip and attach it above your main clip: select clip, copy to clipboard with CMD+C, then position playhead or skimmer at desired location and paste as connected clip with OPT+V.

    You then adjust the exposure of your bottom clip for the brightest part which makes the other parts too dark.

    You then keyframe opacity adjustments in the top clip. In the portions of the bottom clip that are now too dark you use low opacity of the top clip, showing more of it. In the portions of the bottom clip which are OK you use less opacity of the top clip, which mostly shows the bottom clip. This is very fast once you're accustomed to it.

    However Color Finale has keyframed color adjustments, so that's another way. You just do the adjustments directly to the clip and add a keyframe, then go to the next clip position and repeat.

    CoreMelt's SliceX will connect to Color Finale and do motion tracking on Color Finale adjustments, e.g, motion track an object moving across the frame and only do Color Finale adjustments on the masked region.
     
  7. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #7
    Thanks for mentioning color finale keyframes, looking at their site, it wasn't clear whether that was possible. Of course, it costs $100 which is pretty steep if you don't need the full features. It's kind of funny that we are "answering" this question that was asked over a year ago. ;)
     
  8. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #8
    Helps future users :)
     
  9. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #9

Share This Page