can i make the bootcamp-partition larger?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sannekita, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. Sannekita macrumors regular

    Sannekita

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    i tried installing windows on my macbook pro today. I accedentily parted my harddrive in 2 pieces, the windows-side having 6GB. I'd like to make that 20. can i still change this?
    It also didn't recognise my windows-installation disk... annoying
     
  2. MacHappi macrumors newbie

    MacHappi

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Westbury, Wiltshire, UK
    #2
    Not sure about the partition sorry but your windows disk needs to be SP2 in order for the install to work - is yours SP2?
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    If you haven't installed Windows yet, you can. Just go into Boot Camp setup, tell it to restore your disk to a single partition, open it again and then repartition it.

    As for not recognizing your Windows install disc, is it Windows XP SP2 or any edition of Windows Vista (which is what Boot Camp officially supports)?
     
  4. Sannekita thread starter macrumors regular

    Sannekita

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    ok I've got the disk-thing solved... i feel so stupid about the bootcamp! Does anybody know how to make it bigger?
    I could remove it, but i don't really dear to do that?
     
  5. Sannekita thread starter macrumors regular

    Sannekita

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    how do i go into this Boot Camp Setup? is that by just clicking on it? How do i restore my disk to single partition? When i click on bootcamp i get these options that i would consider: (i have to translate) "clean up" or "remove"
    Thank you!
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    Boot Camp Assistant, in your Utilities folder. "Remove" is what you want.
     
  7. Sannekita thread starter macrumors regular

    Sannekita

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    ok i went to finder and choose the boot camp assistent, it asks me to repartition again? just like if i wouldn't have done it before. yet i see that i did already make the partition, because i see the symbol of the hardrive called boot camp... what to do?
    sorry if a seem such a noob

    i see it now!!
    THANK YOU SO MUCH
     

Share This Page