Can i make the dock like the Windows taskbar

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by aditghai, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. aditghai macrumors regular

    aditghai

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #1
    I just for a MBP

    In Windows when an application/document was opened it automatically was there in the taskbar. In OSX if i open another app, I have to use expose or right click the app and look for which window to maximize.

    Is there anyway to make the dock document based instead of application based so when i open something therse is something already in the dock and i dont have to go looking for it.

    Thanks
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    You cannot do what you are talking about.

    The best you can do is right click on an application which will show a list of open windows.
     
  3. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #3
    Or minimise things as you go so that the thumbnail of the window is in the dock ( only works with some apps though )
     
  4. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #4
    That's why you have Expose, just program on of you mouse buttons for expose thats what I did.
     
  5. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #5
    exposé is much better than the taskbar IMHO. the taskbar gets cluttered too quickly and starts to group apps but with exposé you can have as many windows open as you want and still choose them very quickly and intuitively using exposé all windows/application windows.

    theres also hide and hide all/show all which i have yet to master after using Mac OS X for a year.
     
  6. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #6
    I agree - exposé is far superior.

    I personally use the corner hot spots to allow easy file dragging from finder to application, finder to other finder window, desktop to finder window, etc etc
     
  7. AndyK Contributor

    AndyK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #7
    Exposé is a far superior management of windows / folders / open applications compared to a task bar.

    Have a play with the settings in System Preferences > Exposé to customize it the way you like.
     
  8. .adam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #8
    I was pleasantly surprised to see that Exposé works when in grid view using Spaces. Top notch.
     
  9. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #9
    You can even drag windows between spaces in this mode and Exposé will update correctly in the two effected spaces.
     
  10. DarkHeraldMage macrumors 6502a

    DarkHeraldMage

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #10
    I agree! When I first switched I had hot corners turned off because it drove me crazy (my ADD has me throwing the mouse all over the place on the screen when I get bored waiting for something to load), but now I couldn't live without it. 3 out of the 4 corners are used and I'm waiting to figure out what I want for the 4th. I love expose. Yay :apple:.
     
  11. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    Or instead of using Expose, you could do what I do. Use Cmd + Tab to switch applications and Cmd + ~ to switch application windows. :D
     
  12. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #12
    I'm glad I'm not the only one :D

    My setup is attached.

    Still can't decide on a useful application of the lower left corner lol
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page