Can I mix Snow Leopard and iCloud?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Chiquon, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. Chiquon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Twickenham, UK
    #1
    I've just upgraded my parents to iCloud on their phones, and just realised that they are running Snow Leopard on their home Macbook Pro. Possibly a little premature!

    To date they have been syncing contacts and calendars with iTunes (without MobileMe).

    I have told them not to USB sync their iphones with the Macbook Pro, and am now wondering what the next step is!

    1. Can they continue to USB sync with iTunes? Will the new iCloud contacts sync properly with their Macbook Pro contacts?

    2. If not, I'm guessing they should just upgrade to Lion, switch on iCloud, and choose an option to overwrite (rather than merge) the contacts on their Macbook Pro.

    Does this sound sensible?
     
  2. musty345 macrumors regular

    musty345

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I'd definitely tell your parents not to sync their phones.

    Upgrade to Lion, and then under the 'System Preferences' setup iCloud. Then try syncing and all of your contacts should be on their phones, on their macs and on iCloud :)
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    Be aware that if they're running any legacy, PowerPC software the upgrade to Lion will render it useless.

    The only thing I've found that comes close to getting iCloud (Contacts and Calendar) on Snow Leopard is a paid, online service at memotoo.com. You create an account there (there's a free, limited version to try first), then sync it with both iCloud and Mac OS X (Address Book, iCal).

    Or you could just switch them to Google for contacts and calendar.
     
  4. Chiquon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Twickenham, UK
    #4
    Thanks - that confirms my suspicion that it would be a train wreck to do so!! :D

    They are running a MacBookPro3,1 - MA896xx/A. It was bought in about 2006/7. Do you know if this will run Lion?

    Thanks again!

    ----------

    Thanks Brian. I'll check for legacy software, but sounds like it will just be easier to get them on Lion!

    Cheers!
     
  5. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    It'll run Lion in 32-bit mode only...no big deal. If it only has 2GB of RAM you should probably increase it.
     
  6. Chiquon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Twickenham, UK
    #6
    Great - thank you!
     

Share This Page