Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Taisiya

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 16, 2015
Yes... another possibly dumb question from a new iPhone convert. :)

I've been using Android phones for many years. Most recently the Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Note 5, Note S6, S7 edge, as well as LG G4, G5. All of them can be charged with any USB cable, but I usually just use whatever cable and chargers that came with the phones. I don't have any non-manufacturer wall chargers. In my cars, I have Griffin, Belkin, and Samsung 12v car chargers(either 1A or 2A output)

Having just purchased the iPhone 7 and iPhone SE recently, I'm not sure if I'm allowed to just take the Lightning/USB cable and plug it into any wall or car charger that I already have.

The reason I'm confused is that I've read articles about how Apple's Lightning connectors are proprietary and must be certified by Apple.(or may cause damage, etc....) However, the other end of the cable is just regular USB. If being certified by Apple is so important, what happens if someone plus the USB end to a Samsung/LG/Nexus/Moto charger... or worse, a decent, but no-name USB charger? Or is Lightning cable just a way for Apple to make extra money?

Thanks1

anthlis

macrumors newbie
Jan 5, 2016
Yes... another possibly dumb question from a new iPhone convert. :)

I've been using Android phones for many years. Most recently the Samsung Galaxy Note 4, Note 5, Note S6, S7 edge, as well as LG G4, G5. All of them can be charged with any USB cable, but I usually just use whatever cable and chargers that came with the phones. I don't have any non-manufacturer wall chargers. In my cars, I have Griffin, Belkin, and Samsung 12v car chargers(either 1A or 2A output)

Having just purchased the iPhone 7 and iPhone SE recently, I'm not sure if I'm allowed to just take the Lightning/USB cable and plug it into any wall or car charger that I already have.