Can I put a 2.5GHz Logic board in a 2.4GHz case?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lPHONE, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. lPHONE macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
    I'm pulling a logic board from a MacBookPro4,1 and I want to put it in my MacBookPro3,1 and need some advise. First, will it work? If yes, should I pull anything else? What I mean is, are there any other parts that are better in the 2.5, like a faster Airport card?

    Thx bunches.
     
  2. Claerion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
  3. MarcBook macrumors 6502a

    MarcBook

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    #3
    Hmm... You'd need to swap the keyboard and trackpad as well if you want to retain the 4,1's full functionality, I think.

    The 3,1 doesn't support multi-touch in its trackpad and it also has the older keyboard (without play controls etc.). I've got a 3,1.

    I think I'm right in saying it's the 4,1 that introduced those changes? Not 100% sure, though.
     
  4. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #4
    basically everything except the logic board.
     
  5. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #5
    For anyone else asking wondering "can I put a 820-2249-A logic board in place of an 820-2120-A logic board?", the answer is 'yes' but 1 single torx screw doesn't line up and it is this one:


    [​IMG]


    other than that, it works fine. ;)
     
  6. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #6
    The screen probably won't work. The 2.33GHz one had a CCFL backlit display, while the 2.5GHz had a LED backlit display. I can't see that playing out.
     
  7. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #7
    No, it was a 2.4Ghz and all it working great. I'm a little scared about that screw alignment, as the CPU is right below that and I worry about it not connecting to the heatsink, so I screwed everything else in super tight.
     
  8. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    Why not swap the heatsinks from the machines? they're physically the same shape, no?
     
  9. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #9
    ...over torquing the board may not be the best idea as it could crack it...you may want to double check it before you go mobile with it...
     
  10. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #10
    Well the 2.4GHz had LED backlighting.
    You said 2.33GHz in your title......
     
  11. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #11
    hey, there's an idea. :rolleyes:

    don't know why i didn't think of that.
     
  12. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #12
    my bad :eek:
     
  13. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #13

    Doh!!! :rolleyes:

    Don't over tighten the heat-pipe, making it tighter doesn't increase the pressure to the heatsink, if anything you'll squash the logicboard and at worst, the screw will break!! They're fairly fragile!!

    BTW, while youre in the machine.. might be an idea to de-dust those coolers ;)
     
  14. millertime021 macrumors 6502a

    millertime021

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    AZ
    #15
    Judging by the age of the thread you just resurrected, OP has probably died of old age already.
    :D
     

Share This Page