Can I put DD3 ram in my 2.8ghz imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by urbanskywalker, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. urbanskywalker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #1
    I have 4 gigs of ram from a Unibody macbook. Can I safely put it in my imac 2.8ghz that takes DDR2 ram.

    Thanks
     
  2. capo64 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    Nope, I believe the pins are aligned differently. It won't be compatible and probably won't even fit. Sorry
     
  3. jtgotsjets macrumors 6502

    jtgotsjets

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
  4. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #4
    ...your DDR2 RAM is 200 pin and the DDR3 RAM is 204 pin so the pins and the slot in the RAM won't match up the slots in your iMac...
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Well some people fail to get the square peg in the round hole, and some succeed and are rewarded with a fireworks show.
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    no you cannot. they use different connection types.
     
  7. hazza.jockel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    in a swag
    #7
    Reminds me of Apollo 13. If thats anything to go by i would defiantly try to fit the pins together. :rolleyes: :p
     
  8. nph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #8
    imac -8 DDR 2 memory in mac mini?

    I just got an imac 2.8 -08 model. When I upgrade it to 4 Gig can I take the 2 gig in it and put that in my mac mini Core 2 Duo from 2007?
    I believe they both use DDR2...
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Different speeds, different pins. Also incompatible.
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    nahhh
     
  11. nph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #11
    Thanks, I realized I hijacked a thread. Sorry about that.

    Question though. When I look at Crucial website it seems to me that the memory it lists for a mac mini and imac 08 are the same except for speed and I seem to recall that having faster memory doesn't matter it cocks down automatically. Is that correct or false?

    Thanks
     
  12. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #12
    Normally faster memory will down-clock, but not always. I tried some 800MHz DDR2 RAM in my Macbook and it refused to boot. Oh well... YMMV.
     
  13. VulnoX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #14
    Yeah I don't know why they are telling you not to use that memory, I see no reason why not. They are both SO-DIMM's, so same pin count, and it will underclock the memory. But I do hear Apple computers are a very touchy when it comes to what memory they will run reliably with, so who knows, just might have to try it.

    But no other reason not to, not sure why you are being told its different unless I am not seeing something.

    Edit: I just noticed you said 08' iMac and just Mac Mini, if you have the 2009 Mac Mini it won't work, if its the 2008/2007's, it should.
     

Share This Page