can I putt 1067Mhz Memory in a 667Mhz machine?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by techbeat, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. techbeat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    #1
    I upgraded to two 4GB sticks in my macbook pro i5 15".. I removed the two 2GB sticks and would like to give them to my friend who has an older macbook that just has two 500MB sticks in his. I hear a rumor that it would work fine. Just not at optimal speed. anybody done this?
     
  2. Intell, Dec 1, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010

    Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Yes and they work just as fast as the proper speed. But they must both be the same kind and have the same data rate. Example: DDR3 ram will not work in a DDR2 machine.
     
  3. logana macrumors 65816

    logana

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    I think he means that DDR3 won't work in a DDR2 machine.....

    If your friend's MacBook has only 1GB ram in it then it will be the non-unibody white/black MacBook. This will only work with DDR2 ram and DDR3 will not physically fit in the ram slots.....
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    That I do.
     

Share This Page