Can i reinstall my 15'' mac pro system with a 13'' disc?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bubsiminnie, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. bubsiminnie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    #1
    i recently bought a second hand 15'' macbook pro, and when i turned it on, it always have the previous owner's name on the top left corner, it doesn't go away even if i change the wallpaper, so i guess it's build-in, so plus every other his staff on it, i really wanna reinstall the system and clean up everything. however, i don't have the installation cd, and when i tried to use my friends 13'' installation cd, it says 'Mac OS X 10.6 cannot be installed on this computer'! why is that and what should i do?:confused: cheers~
     
  2. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #2
    And thats all it will ever do...just buy lion and follow the instruction here to make a CD before you install it and then do a fresh install of lion. You could of course buy a retail copy of Snow Leopard if it's still around.
     
  3. Samuriajackon macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #3
    AMAZON.COM has left over Snow L. OS 10.6
     
  4. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #4
    Go to Apple and ask about getting a new SL disk, or even just a clean install of 10.6 (don't make up some story, just tell them the truth that you bought it from a friend and didn't get a disk), and see what they say. At worst they won't have one, or they may charge you for a disk(but you'd have to buy one anyway), but you might get lucky and they'll help you out.
     
  5. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #5
    The version of SL makes a difference as well. We need more information on the year and model of your MBP, as just buying a retail SL disk may not work either (depending on the model of MBP and the version of SL you buy).
     
  6. bubsiminnie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    #6
    Thanks guys, il try to ring apple first and see what they say
     

Share This Page