Can I remove icons on the desktop?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macgrl, Nov 3, 2008.

1. macgrl macrumors 65816

Hi all, I am new to mac and have just downloaded skype and firefox and they are sitting on the dock quite happily and I am able to use them both. However they are also sat on the right hand side of my desk top below macintosh hd, can i remove them from here and move them somewhere else - what are these icons on the desktop - do they serve a purpose. I just don't want to clog up the screen

Thanks

2. b1u3b0y Guest

When you downloaded the programs did u drag them from the removable disk and drop place them into your applications folder?

ex:

Opend the .dmg file for the downloaded application and a white disk should appear on your desktop.. open that and inside you will find the program. Then you take that program and drag it to your applications folder. After doing so eject the white removable disk and deleted the .dmg file. Those are the steps involved for installing any program. Unless it has an install package which you double click on and install then eject the disk and delete the .dmg file. Hope this helped!

3. macgrl thread starter macrumors 65816

4. macgrl thread starter macrumors 65816

I did the drag and drop into the applications folder just now and that worked fine. When I click on the respective programs drives and try to eject them they say that I need to close the application first?

5. b1u3b0y Guest

hmmm... okay well i've posted steps in my above post I don't know if those can help...but if you open your applications folder and the program isn't there i would recommend dragging it from your desktop and placing it in the applications folder. you may have to delete your dock icon and re add if you do so.. also don't drag the white mounted disk if it's inside.. just drag the program that is inside to the applications folder.

6. macgrl thread starter macrumors 65816