iPad Can I reset and not lose jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lyceumHQ, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. lyceumHQ macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    I have an ipad 3 on 6.1 jailbroken.

    It keeps crashing. Now I know I can't restore it to 6.1.2, I'd have to upgrade to 6.1.3 and lose jailbreak, which I don't want to do.

    But what happens if I click erase all content and settings.

    Will I lose my jailbreak? Will I end up in a boot loop? Will it be fine?

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    What would you expect to happen if you "erase all content" ?

    Your iPad will have the firmware erased which will require a restore to 6.1.3
     
  3. carlos mara macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    #3
    Use iLEXRat from cydia or semirestore, look up in iphoneate.com/hack
     
  4. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #4
    No,

    I don't mean plug it into itunes and restore, I mean going into settings and clicking erase all content.

    ----------

    Thanks, will check that out now.
     
  5. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #5
    FYI dhlizard knows that. This topic is mentioned almost as often as "can I jailbreak 6.1.3".

    Definitely check out ilex rat and semi-restore. Those are your best bets to avoid losing your jailbreak.
     
  6. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    Ran semirestore

    Worked but now can't get back up and running. Won't restore from the backup I used. Can't set up as new iPad because iTunes says the iPad was disconnected whatever I try to do. Can't get on wifi as just keeps saying 'cant connect'.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7


    Nothing will happen.
    It will just give you an error and nothing will be erased.
    It will just stay the way it is now.
     
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #8
    Did you reboot?

    Reset network settings
     
  9. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #9
    Yes. Tried both. And restarted the PC and tried different USB ports.
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  11. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

Share This Page