Can I restore a Time Machine backup from rMBP to iMac 5k?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Fez Vrasta, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. Fez Vrasta macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #1
    Hi guys,

    the title tells everything...

    I'll get my iMac in few days and I'd like to know if I will be able to restore a Time Machine backup of my rMBP to have the same files, apps, configurations etc...

    I'm talking about a full restore, the one that restores the entire OS, because I have lot of brew apps and some custom configurations of SSH and so on.

    Thanks!
     
  2. bjmoose macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #2
    Should be easy

    Just make sure your rMBP is on Yosemite so the restored image supports the 5K machine.

    Some things don't port directly even with a full restore though; and be sure to start from a user not on your rMBP (you can delete it later).
     
  3. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #3
    Thanks, I'm on Yosemite.

    What do you mean with the part about the user? I don't get it.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I believe bjmoose is confusing Migration Assistant with a restore. Migration Assistant can be used from an account on the new machine to migrate data in, but it is problematic if the account already exists on the new Mac.

    Just option key boot to your TM disk and click restore and you will be good.
     
  5. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #5
    Thanks @Weaselboy,

    after I restore, my iMac 5k will be called "Federico's Macbook Pro"?

    Because I would like to keep two separated backups for my two macs and if they have the same name I don't think everything will work smoothly
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Yep. Just open System Prefs and in the Sharing pane rename it to whatever you want.
     
  7. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #7
    Thanks! After it I will be able to keep two different backups right?

    Thanks!
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Yes exactly. Changing the machine name like you mentioned will do that.
     
  9. Fez Vrasta thread starter macrumors member

    Fez Vrasta

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #9
    Ok thanks again, I hope everything will work when I'll perform the restore.

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page