Can I restore just my apps from Time Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Tronic, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. Tronic macrumors 6502

    Tronic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    Hello, I'm relatively new to macs, about a year in, but I've never gotten around to using Time Machine. Mainly because its not my primary machine so I'm not using it for anything serious at the moment. That being said, I somehow managed to corrupt OSX to the point where it needs to be re-installed. Basically what happened is I tried to resize my Bootcamp partition and either Disk Utility crashed or I did something wrong that caused it to during the resize. Now whenever I click anywhere on the menu bar, the current app crashes.

    So what I want to know is, If I create a Time Machine backup today and then reinstall OSX. Can I then access my backup but only reinstall the apps? Or will the new version of OSX be overwritten with my corrupted one?

    Thanks
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Yes. If you run a Time Machine backup now, then reinstall your system you will be able to then access your backup and reinstall your apps. But beware, if you have apps like Adobe CS, Office, MatLab, or other large Suite of software the backup restore will likely not be a smooth one (nor will your preferences be restored).
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    You can do that.
    Either during installation or after with the help of Migration Assistant, which give you the option just to restore the applications.
     
  4. Tronic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Tronic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    I do have Photoshop CS4 as well as MS Office 2008 installed. What do you mean that it will not be smooth? I don't care if it takes a long time, I just don't want to have to deal with registering/activating all my apps again.
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    I don't know about Office, but CS4 gets everywhere. Simply copying the files in /Applications won't work.
     
  6. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #6
    ...

    I think your best bet is to reinstall all your current software after you reinstall the OS, since those apps are spread about the whole drive you wont get them working properly without a reinstall. Too bad you dont have a time machine backup from before your system went crazy
     
  7. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Some people learn the hard way but than again a year is not long enough to find time to do it. Hard to feel sorry for some...
     

Share This Page