Can I Run 2 Different Screens On A MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by f1racer328, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. f1racer328 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #1
    I want to have my MacBook running on its main screen with one process and another monitor running a different process. I know this is possible on the MacBook Pros but is it possible on a MacBooK? Here are my specs. Mac OS X 10.5.4 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM and the MacBook is really new. The build number is 9E17. Thanks for the help and i did search the other forums.
     
  2. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    You mean a second monitor? Of course! You'll just need these cables. (There is another version, depending on the one you need.)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Hope this helps! :D
     
  3. applecupcakes macrumors member

    applecupcakes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    #3
    Yes! My boyfriend has this setup and I'm incredibly jealous 'cause it's so neat. As to what exactly you need, I'm not 100% sure but I can tell you it can be done!
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    it can be done as long as you have the proper cables, I'm getting my 24" monitor today (really excited) and I'm using it with the DVI cable, which is similar to the cable in the pic above, but thta pic is of a VGA cable. Most monitors support the analog VGA and the digital DVI, I'd use DVI since it's newer and better. Both cables cost about $20 from the online apple store.

    Once you have the equipment, cables and everything connected, macbook > cable > dvi or vga cable > monitor, in the system preferences pane > displays > and choose the option to use as a secondary display. it basically extends your current screen on the macbook.
     
  5. applecupcakes macrumors member

    applecupcakes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    #5
    Yes, AND you can have different wallpapers on each screen!
     
  6. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #6
    you can? how? im getting my 24" today, so i would love to know... :D
     
  7. applecupcakes macrumors member

    applecupcakes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    #7
    I have NO idea! Hahaha that is not helpful at all I am aware, but it's my boyfriend's setup and I have seen it with my very own eyes. Perhaps I'm easily amused or impressed but I think it's the neatest thing ever. :D When I get a chance I can ask him & let you know! But chances are you will find out somewhere in the meantime, I'm sure.
     
  8. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #8
    when you go to "display settings" 2 windows pop up, one on each screen.
    this happens with both "display settings" and "wallpaper settings" (and it used to work with screen saver, but not anymore :()
     
  9. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9
    a little confusing but i understand. just choose the wallpaper via system preferences. thanks!
     
  10. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #10
    ha, ya, not the best at explaining it .. sorry ... :eek:
     
  11. applecupcakes macrumors member

    applecupcakes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    #11
    But! If you use one of the apple screensavers with the changing/fading photographs, each screen will display different pictures at the same time. :)
     
  12. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    yup just like you would normally

    a window will pop up on each monitor where you can change the desktop for each if you want to
     
  13. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    thanks for all the info, now i'm all psyched for my new monitor! cant wait!
     
  14. tompon1923 macrumors 6502

    tompon1923

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    15°35'30.45S 54°31'22.17E
    #14
    check out the setup threats you see some awesome results up there:cool:
     
  15. applecupcakes macrumors member

    applecupcakes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    #15
    No problem! I'm actually excited FOR you, hahaha. :)
     
  16. f1racer328 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #16
    Thanks Guys

    Thanks i think im gonna get myself another monitor. Will it slow down? :eek:
     
  17. tompon1923 macrumors 6502

    tompon1923

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    15°35'30.45S 54°31'22.17E
    #17
    hmm, yes and no because a dual display setup makes you go more multitasking but if you run the same apps as you do now you'll be fine.
     

Share This Page