Can I run a 2015 MBPro with the new 6K display...?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Turnpike, Jun 4, 2019.

  1. Turnpike macrumors 6502

    Turnpike

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    New York City!
    #1
    How likely is it that the MacBook Pro's from late 2015 (15") will be enough to power the new 6K display coming out... or do you think it will only work with the newer MacBook Pro's...?

    Did they release enough info to know for sure?

    I personally don't understand graphics cards and monitors, but if those who know these things can say it's an easy "yes" or even "very likely" that the 2015 MBPro's will work with the new monitor, I will watch the release date in an entirely different way.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    I would assume it's not going to work, as Thunderbolt 2 is not forwards compatible.

    Also, your Mac supports up to 3840 by 2160 external pixels, the 6K is 6016 by 3384 pixels !
     
  3. pshufd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    In the Apple Specs page, it says that the 2015 MBP will power up to 2 5K displays. I take that to mean that that's the limit.
     
  4. Turnpike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Turnpike

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    New York City!
    #5
    What about with an external graphics card or something...? You think there is ANY way to use a 2015 15" maxed out MBPro and the new 6K monitor? External graphics card or any other external items to make it possible to dock a 2015 MBPro to the monitor?
     
  5. pshufd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    The question is can you get the appropriate adapters for Thunderbolt 2 output to drive the eGPU. Also, it's an expensive solution.
     
  6. Turnpike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Turnpike

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    New York City!
    #7

    I'm OK with the expensive part of it.... it would be an amazing upgrade for my 16 hour a day, 7 day a week work life... I'd rather spend $10k on such a solution than have a $10K upgrade of my daily vehicle (by far).

    If it's possible by any means or costs, let me know what I should look into, I just want it to be possible.

    And if it absolutely can't be done with the 2015 15" MBPro, is it possible with the 2019's...?

    Thank you so much for the input!
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    "Can I run a 2015 MBPro with the new 6K display...?"

    Ahem...

    If you can afford the new 6k display, then you can also afford whatever Mac (Pro, laptop, etc.) that is required to run it... ;)
     
  8. Evangeline, Jun 5, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019

    Evangeline macrumors member

    Evangeline

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    #9
    There may be a way.. MBP - > TB2 to TB3 adapter -> Blackmagic eGPU -> monitor

    Probably the only way, since that eGPU is the only one with a TB3 output. Just not sure it will work properly with a TB2 to TB3 adapter.

    Edit: you can use the Blackmagic with a TB2 Mac via adapter, but Apple doesn't support it so you have to use third-party code https://egpu.io/forums/mac-setup/script-enable-egpu-on-tb1-2-macs-on-macos-10-13-4/ to bypass that
     
  9. Queen6 macrumors 604

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Flying over the rainforest at dawn - Priceless
    #10
    I would say no as the GPU will either be woefully inadequate or barbecue time :p

    Q-6
     
  10. Turnpike thread starter macrumors 6502

    Turnpike

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    New York City!
    #11

    Ha ha... I hear you. But I WANT to use my 2015 15" MBPro's on the 6K monitor. That's the point. I have several of the 2015 15" laptops and I like them better than the new ones. I WANT to keep using them as I do (portable, and a delight to use in a standalone way at jobsites) but then to connect to the 6K at the office...
     
  11. pshufd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #12
    You could get a laptop that can drive an external 6K display and then VNC into your 2015 MBP.
     
  12. Queen6 macrumors 604

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Flying over the rainforest at dawn - Priceless
    #13
    You'll be needing NVidia for that one :p

    Q-6
     
  13. pshufd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #14
    Fortunately that's not a problem on Windows.
     
  14. Queen6 macrumors 604

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Flying over the rainforest at dawn - Priceless
    #15
    As ever the customer invested in macOS has to compromise, all thx to Apple's inflexibility and pettiness. AMD or NVidia GPU's should be an option on such a so called premium products, equally Apple could care less.

    Solved that problem, now I can utilise any NVidia GPU thx to a more flexible and open OS. Apple's loss not mine...

    Q-6
     

Share This Page

14 June 4, 2019