can i run cod4?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ivorito, Mar 11, 2012.

  1. ivorito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #1
    Okay, basically i have the 2010 macbook white. It has an intel core 2 duo 2.4Ghz processor and a nividia geforce 320M graphics card with shared memory. The memory that i have in the laptop is 8gb. I upgraded it from 2. So can i run cod4 with a resonablly high frame rate? I dont need brilliant graphics but would i be able to get around 60 fps? Also, should i get it on the appstore or through Steam on my windows partition? What run better/be better in terms of modding. Also does cod4 on the pc have an issue with hackers? Thanks very much.
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    Doubt it about 60 fps, probably on lowest.

    I run it at med settings/res and it gave reasonable 30+ in MP
     
  3. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #3
    Ah thank you... so do you have a similar specked computer? Is it fine and playable at that frame rate? Thanks very much.
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #4
    The mbp in my sig is like yours.

    It is playable, but since I've got this iMac this summer I don't use it for cod anymore as 21" screen combined with much faster graphics give more enjoyable gaming experience.

    If I play on MBP I will of course notice worse performance, but its a matter of getting used to, really.

    Some maps will be slower, like open ones with trees etc (Creek, Overgrown), smaller maps or maps with more simple geometry run just fine.
     
  5. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Well I can play it on the Intel HD graphics from the 2010 MBP on highest settings at 1680x1050. Not much fun at 25fps about, but you get the message :D you can easily play it at 1280x800 on high with your GPU, which is at least twice as fast as the HD graphics. 60+fps, doubt it, but then you dont need that, 40 is more than enough. (yes this is up to debate, blah blah blah) Jus sayin
     
  6. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Windows will run better, but it runs nicely under OS X. Also, remember that your OS X or Windows key will work under both OS's. If you want, PM me and I can link you to a website that'll give you a key, that you can then use under either OS X or Windows.
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    It runs much worse if you raise resolution above 1024, and 320M isn't nearly twice as fast as intelHD, they are about the same actually
     
  8. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Thats why I wrote 2010 MBP. It has the Intel HD graphics, from the first generation ix CPU's, not Intel HD graphics 3000. the 320M is about twice as fast as the HD graphics.
    And the settings I wrote is what I have done. I know you have a 320M equipped MBP so you know better than I do what setting are playable, but since I can run it at 25fps with highest at 1680x1050, 1280x800 on mediums, im guessing should be quite fluent.
     
  9. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #10
    Thanks very much, i remember reading that article actually over a year ago when i bought it. I think i will probably get it and maybe having a higher RAM (8 in comparison to 2) will increase that a little. Thanks again.
     
  10. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    I wasnt aware they were different chips ^_^
     
  11. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    haha, aight
    well you learn something new everyday :)
     
  12. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

    Ungibbed

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    I also have the 320m in my MacBook Pro and run the game on it. It's wonderful to look at on my ACD, but the 320m and the 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo can't handle the native resolution smoothly at all (2560x1440) but I did take a few screen captures here and there and it just stomps the amount of detail in same game on my PS3. Some elements were never before noticed as the console versions are actually lower resolution than claimed for the sake of steady FPS.

    With my 8GB of memory I can get a good solid frame rate if I run at 720p on my ACD or the native 1280x800 on the internal display. My Mac does get very hot so SMC fan control is a must if you plan on a extended session.

    I love the game and would love to see Modern Warfare 2 on the Mac App Store one of these days. I can hope at least... :)
     
  13. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #14
    Ooh thankyou, i would just run on the internal display so yeah 1280 by 800 i think. what is SMC fan control?
     
  14. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    Only if they do a proper port. You can get a ported version as a torrent download, and whilst it works its unbelievable how much power you need. I can only run it smoothly at 1280x800 and low settings on my 2010 i7 MBP, whilst on windows vista 32 bit, same MBP, i can play it at 1680x1050 and highest settings .
     
  15. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #16
    Im sorry to bother you, but a quick question.On the windows 7 64 bit partition, If i were to download it on "game" it only costs £9.99. On steam its costs £19.99. If i got it from game would it run on steam and get updates and stuff? sorry im a noob at pc gaming ;) thanks
     
  16. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    Nope. Only certain games activate on Steam, and Call of Duty 4 isn't one of them.
     
  17. ivorito thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #18
    thanks, but would it play any differently if i bought it from game as apposed to steam?
     
  18. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    If it is the same game then no
     
  19. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

    Ungibbed

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    A simple app that allows you to control the cooling fan speed manually. COD4 heats my Mac up pretty fast as it's rather taxing on the older Core 2 Duo systems like mine coupled with the Nvidia 320m GPU.

    If I plan on heavy gaming in "closed lid" mode and using only my 27" ACD, the benefits of using SMC Fan Control are great for me as my Mac would have a much harder time cooling itself with the lid shut than having it open.
     
  20. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #21
    Couple things.
    Your mac will make its fan go at max rpm when gaming anyway ( i have tried COD4 on a white macbook yesterday and it did 6000rpm all the time when playing) so smcfancontrol is not needed as it does not increase the cooling or anything because the fan is doing 6000rpm anyway.
    Second thing. I'd advise you to not game with the lid of your macbook closed. This is because the fans suck in air through the keyboard so your stopping the fans from getting as much air as possible. Having the lid closed also insulates the computer more. Also your screen can get damaged from excessive heat rising to it. Trust me the bottom 3cm of the screen in my 2010 MBP have a slight discolouration and when im watching a movie, for example, in dark scenes the bottom 3cm are very bright, nearly white. I didn't have this at the beginning, I started noticing it after a year of having this MBP.
    This happened although I have never used it with the screen closed when attached to a external screen. Just so you my MBP's cpu is always 100% in use, about 12hours a day every day and occasionally so is the GPU in addition. So although the screen has always been open, the heat has damaged the screen somehow. How do I know the heat causes it? Well the damage is from the far left bottom of the screen to about 2cm to the right of the MacBook Pro writing. So exactly where the logic board is and where the hot air is blown out. The heat is the only thing that could have caused it.

    Just a little advise. I can post a pic of the damage if anyone is curious.
     
  21. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #22
    I have the same specs as you, except they call it the MacBook Pro 13", with 4gb of ram. On windows, i overclock my GPU by software and i get over 24+ fps on Cod:mw3 with medium graphics settings.
     
  22. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #23
    I doubt it will run smoothly without the lowest setting as possible since it is quite low on specs
     
  23. Ungibbed macrumors 6502

    Ungibbed

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #24

    Odd that Apple would enable the feature to run and game in closed lid mode with no warning anywhere in the documentation anywhere. Also somewhere here on these forums was a tear down image showing that the keyboard bed is sealed and not intended to be any sort of air intake.

    Secondly most of the heat on my 13" is dissipated via the bottom cover if the fan is at a lower speed and some other games that are not as technically demanding (Halo, Fable, and various other games I bought from the app store) don't wind up the fan as much as I'd like it to.

    I know the old saying that a cool running laptop is a happy one indeed, but as of late, I've been spending a lot of time lately playing Bards Tale on my iPad 2.

    Other occasions I use SMC Fan control is while running Windows 7 in Parallels 7 or to cool my MBP down before shutting it down after a long session on it. :apple:
     
  24. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #25
    Sorry to clear things up. I misread something from a website. Air is partly pulled in through the keyboard so that some cold air is streaming through the the laptop. Apparently the fans work in a way that the cold air is sucked in, in the same gap as the hot air comes out of. Difference being the hot air should rise out in between the case and the LCD and the top, whilst the cold is sucked in under the LCD from behind. So if the hot air should rise out between case and display at the top, when the lid is closed the hot air and cold air being pushed out the same slot.
    I tried gaming yesterday with the lid closed on my 2010 15" MBP and it was considerably hotter.

    Ok, well your reasons for using SMC are perfectly valid then :D. Its just my fans are at 6000rpm all the time with whatever I do thats demanding so its different for me. My bad
     

Share This Page