Can I run my app on iOS7 w/o the iOS7 SDK?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by moonman239, Jul 4, 2013.

  1. moonman239 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #1
    I currently have a build on my iPad. Will it stop running if I update it?

    BTW, does the NDA prohibit discussion of topics like this on non-Apple forums?
     
  2. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #2
    Two thoughts:
    1 - This should be discussed on Apple's devforums.
    2 - Anything you find there is subject to change during the process of the beta.
     
  3. moonman239 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #3
    Here's a link to a thread on the Apple developer forums on this topic. https://devforums.apple.com/thread/194499
     
  4. jackal123uk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Basically, as long as your app doesn't rely on APIs that have extensively changed in iOS 7 you should be fine.

    Personally all my iOS 6 built apps work fine in 7 but when moving from 5 to 6 the changes to Mapkit broke some of the functionality in a few of them.
     
  5. lastcall macrumors member

    lastcall

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #5
    I'm sure when XCode 5 is released, you will find out. Just set the target to iOS 6.1, or whatever iOS you're targetting,
    and run it on iPad 7.0 simulator.

    If you need to run it on a real device, it looks like iOS 7 is limited to iPad 2 or later, or iPad mini.
     

Share This Page