Can I run Snow Leopard in Lion w/ Parallels?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Singin Hobo, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. Singin Hobo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    I've got Parallels 6 and I was hoping to run a VM Snow Leopard through Lion but when I try to install it it says something about not being able to install a Snow Leopard server, which I don't want to do.

    I don't want to run it on a partition as I would like to run them both at the same time (I need some apps in Lion and a printer of mine has no driver for Lion).

    Any way to work this?
     
  2. Sc00tr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #2
    no you can only run Snow Lep Server inside the VM.
    However you can run Lion inside a VM. You will need to upgrade to the latest version of Parallels.
     
  3. Singin Hobo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
    Okay, hows about this one:

    Can I connect to my Windows 7 VM in Parallels as a network? ie: using a printer attached through Windows from Lion?
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    So if you have a pc lying around and have a virtualization software, you can run lion on your pc virtualized?
     
  5. Singin Hobo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #5
    No, according to the user agreement you can only run OSX on Mac hardware... so you could run Lion inside Lion... I guess.
     
  6. mrgraff macrumors 6502a

    mrgraff

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    #6
    I don't see why not. I'm doing the exact opposite: my Windows XP VM is able to use the printer attached through Lion. You should be able to install your printer in Windows 7 and share it on your network, and then find it Lion.
     
  7. jbg232 macrumors 65816

    jbg232

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #7
    Licensing issues aside, apprently the just updated VM Ware Fusion 4.1 allows you to run leopard or snow leopard virtualized (non-server editions).
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Yes, but even before that, there was a simple hack to allow vmware to load SL. Anyways when I had done that on computer I found performance to be rather poor. The drivers are just not there to really get a decent performance, but its still nice for testing purposes or if you have some rosetta apps
     

Share This Page