Can I run Vista on my MacBook?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Tim117, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. Tim117 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    BC Canada
    #1
    I'm just wondering if I need to upgrade any hardware? Like up to DX9 or something?


    Model Identifier: MacBook2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB
    Memory: 512 MB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
     
  2. Subiklim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan, New York
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    Cannot upgrade anything but the memory and HD without voiding the warranty, the GMA950 is part of the chipset and lacks upgrade capability. So whatever performance it has is what you get.

    Apple doesn't have portable graphics cards, just the integrated GPU or a GPU soldered to the motherboard (the MacBook Pros.)
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Yes, with BootCamp :)

    If you add RAM (I recommend this anyway, as it is quite cheap and will make your machine a lot faster) you could use Parallels or Fusion to run both Mac OSX and Vista at the same time...
     
  5. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #5
    can you run Vista on a MacBook? yes.

    is it the best "Windows on a Mac" experience available? no; and - to some - that statement is oxymoronic.
     

Share This Page