Can I run vmware fusion 10?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by adam9c1, Nov 8, 2017.

  1. adam9c1 macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #1
    At work I have a 2010 5,1 4core (single CPU). which will not run vmware fusion.

    The app will run, but I was unable to crate a macOS vm.
    Are the hex core cpus capable?
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    You may have to disable SIP if you are running the latest OS X
     
  3. adam9c1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    You'll need to stay with Fusion 8.
     
  5. MarkJames68 macrumors regular

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #5
    Or upgrade to a six-core W3680 for around $75 on eBay plus some time and supplies. Don’t know if a firmware upgrade is also needed to support it.
     

Share This Page