Can I set up a new iPhone 8 w/o SIM?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by donawalt, Oct 2, 2017.

  1. donawalt macrumors 6502

    donawalt

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #1
    Hi all, I am planning to set up my daughter's new iPhone 8 this weekend, and I am trying to get as much done prior as possible.

    She has a backup in iTunes that we will use to restore to the new phone, encrypted to keep passwords etc. But, her current phone is on Mac OS 11.01. I know the new phone is Mac OS 11.0, so during the install/setup process it will have to be upgraded before it can use the backup.

    The phone is ordered for AT&T so it has a SIM in it to make the transition of her phone number to the new phone easy. I just went through this with another phone.

    Last night I briefly checked out what would happen if I took the SIM out and tried to set up the new phone, because today it would be bad to have her phone number transitioned to the new phone in my hands lol. When I tried to set up the phone without a SIM, it got to a screen that appeared to indicate no SIM, cannot proceed.

    Is there a way I can upgrade this phone to Mac OS 11.01 without bringing her phone number over?

    Thanks, hope this made sense!
     
  2. Cascades42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    iPhones run iOS, and Macs run macOS ;) The most recent version of macOS is 10.13 High Sierra, but that won't be an issue with updating the iOS on the phone.
    You can put any sim in the iPhone to activate - including yours. The device won't be tied to the number, and you just take it out at the end of the setup. But that won't speed things up that much to be honest - I would personally just wait, plug it onto her machine and restore the backup to it, then update it over the air afterwards.
     
  3. Cascades42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Just re-reading, you mean her current phone is on iOS 11.0.1? Depending on when the backup was done (before or after the update) then the backup just restore straight to the phone, but if not from memory it will offer you the option to update the iOS before doing the restore.
     
  4. donawalt thread starter macrumors 6502

    donawalt

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #4
    Sorry for the confusion, pre-coffee lol. Her current phone is on 11.01 already. So I may just take your advice and do the upgrade of the new phone to 11.01 as part of the restore from iTunes, I was just rrying to save that 25 minutes or so but it may not be worth the trouble. Thanks!
     
  5. IP8 macrumors newbie

    IP8

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    #5
    So can you setup and use an iPhone without a SIM card?

    I plan on buying and using the phone on wifi and trying out the camera until my sim arrives. Of course I won’t be able to make or receive calls until then. ;)
     
  6. Reno Raines macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #6
    I know with at least carrier locked iPhones I was under the impression one needed a sim to activate a new iPhone. After that you can use WiFi only. I have an old straightalk 5s and I needed the sim to activate it. Now it has no sim but works like an iPod Touch.
     
  7. silverblack macrumors 68030

    silverblack

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #7
    All iPhones, even carrier unlocked, need a sim to activate. The sim does not need to be active though.
     
  8. Manatlt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Only Factory Unlocked iPhones can be set up without a SIM. Any iPhone that is bought from a carrier, or an iPhone that was unlocked by a carrier must use a SIM to activate the iPhone
     

Share This Page

7 October 2, 2017