Can I still open Garageband in version 6.0.5 after I update to El Capitan?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by LWint, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. LWint macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #1
    When Apple updated Garageband in Yosemite, it made the program basically unusable to me. It was billed as an upgrade, but they got rid of the very cool and very easy ways to manipulate the sounds, SFX, etc. As a result, since that update, I've continued to use Garageband 6.0.5 using the right click to open with the older version, which Apple was gracious enough to still make possible. Now, I want to upgrade to El Capitan, but I'm afraid I will lose the ability to open the older version of Garageband. Can someone please let me know if Garageband 6.0.5 can still be opened in El Capitan? THANK YOU. To this day, I still don't understand why Apple decided to make Garageband less fun to play with. I just can't think of one good reason they thought it would be good to do that. :/
     
  2. campyguy, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015

    campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #2
    Most of my friends have disappeared into marriage. I'm left with my harmonica, my banjo, and Magic Garageband - that's my new band. :(

    That written, I'm able to open and use GB 6.0.5 on OS X 10.11.1B2. I see some visual artifacts in the Magic wizard as I mouse over each virtual instrument, but they work and sound just as they did in 10.8/9/10; I also have the newer GB and Mainstage (along with all of the additional sounds that go along with their updates).

    I'd go bonkers if I couldn't get my new band working, I'd resort to running an earlier version of OS X in a VM but I'd do that just to keep my new band together!
     
  3. LWint thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #3
    Thanks Campyguy, but I'm a bit confused by your response. El Capitan is version 10.11
     
  4. campyguy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #4
    No, you're not confused. I was. It was a very long day, and I made an edit to the OS version. FWIW, I updated to 10.11.1B3 today and the appearance glitches were gone. GB 6 sounds perfect and looks pretty good! :p
     

Share This Page