Can I straight swap a hard drive between 2 (almost identical) macbook pros?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TheSVD, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. TheSVD macrumors 6502a

    TheSVD

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    The Jolly Ol' Midlands, England
    #1
    Hi :)

    Me and my friend wanted to swap macbook pros - she has a 15" unibody and I have a 17" one of the exact same era (both have core 2 duo, no SD card slot, same graphics card, just a slightly different processor) - can we swap our hard drives and they will just work in the other laptop? Just wondering as there is a load of data to back up on both hard drives and this would save a load of time!

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Oxonian3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Trinidad
    #2
    I also would love an answer to this question!
     
  3. Untouchab1e macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #3
    Its considered extremely bad practice to do so, but I guess its possible? Ive never done it between Macbooks before, but dont be surprised if you have an unreliable system afterwards..

    Generally, if you dont take backup of your important data, you have no rights to complain when you loose it. Even simple things such as using Dropbox to backup your documents and Time Machine is all you need really...

    But to answer your question.. I believe it should work..
     
  4. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Always back up, like you said.

    The only problem that I could see is that the different screen sizes typically have different internal setups, and it could cause problems with how it operates.

    Although it shouldn't do anything to your data. The worst thing that could happen is that it doesn't work; you can always switch back. Try it.
     
  5. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #5
    If they are the same model, but different sizes, it should work without issues.

    How would switching them help you backup is beyond me though.
     
  6. bb426 macrumors 6502

    bb426

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #6
    And I don't understand how that would help you... just what exactly are you trying to do? I can already see that most likely there is a better way to do what you are trying to do.
     
  7. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #7
    Get one more hard drive, make a time machine backup on one, then do a fresh install with migration assistant to get your data back. Then repeat on the other drive. It may not be the speediest option, but it's the safest.
     
  8. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    this would work. it will boot and run.

    but i can imagine you having slight problems... maybe some driver issues... should be very very minor.

    i would still recommend backing up ur files and doing a fresh install.

    i do this every year.
     
  9. cdustybk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #9
    It should work. But DO MAKE A BACKUP.

    I don't know what it would accomplish though, unless you're swapping computers or making sure one works or something...

    Not trying to be rude, but you do know you can't save data off onto the actual computer don't you? Just making sure I'm reading the question right.
     
  10. Maxpilot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Midwest
    #10
    I does work. I took my drive out of my old MacBook Pro 2.26GHz computer and dropped it into my new MacBook Pro 2.7GHz computer with no problems or issues. It booted right up and ran just like it always did,
     

Share This Page