Can I turn off Front Row?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by joefinan, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. joefinan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames, UK
    #1
    I'm sure people find Front Row fantastic but I have no desire to use it. However, I keep accidentally pressing Apple-Esc at which point my computer freezes for a few seconds and then starts up in Front Row.

    It's a PAIN!

    Does anyone know how I can turn it off or change the shortcut to something more difficult to press accidentally?
     
  2. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
  3. naepflin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #4
    Turn Off Only the Menu Button?

    Is there some hack to only turn off the menu button on the Apple remote?
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    What are you TRYING to hit that you keep hitting Apple+Escape?! :p
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Force Quit comes pretty close...
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Do something that requires Command key combo (command tab, etc.), and hit escape before letting go of the command key, thus resulting in Command-ESC.

    I do it pretty frequently and have the frontrow keyboard short cut turned off.
     
  7. naepflin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #8
    Well, I'm not accidentally hitting Apple-esc (I've turned off that shortcut anyway), but the menu button on the Apple remote. Mostly happens while playing with the remote :)
     
  8. mynameisshawn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    One man's trash is another man's treasure: I didn't about that short cut, a lot easier than going into my Apps stacks to go to FR.

    Thanks guys! :D
     
  9. Deserted macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #10
    This cmnd-esc combo was driving me nuts as well, i was looking for the esc key symbol in the shortcuts window to no avail, whew, one less thing to worry about. Thanks osirisX.
    eric
     
  10. bjett92 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    #11
    If you have no plan for ever using Front Row you can just delete it from the Apps folder.
     
  11. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #12
    First shortcut I nuked, replaced with "Visor" which allows me to bring up a terminal console using that shortcut :)
     
  12. tophermetcalfe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #13
    Using the remote with other programs.

    I am using the remote with sofa control very happily but now with Snow Leopard front row keeps taking control.

    How can i permanently destroy front row?
    I have tried deleting it from my apps but the little bgger keeps popping up when i hit the menu key on my remote.
     
  13. devburke Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #14
    This and the menu button on the Apple Remote were the only ways (that I know about) to get to Front Row at all in Tiger, before it was added to the Applications folder in Leopard.
     

Share This Page