can i unlock a 3G iphone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by yiannos9, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. yiannos9 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #1
    i have new iphone 3g but in my country it doesnt work.is there a way to unlock it? im desperate !!! :(
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Not with software yet. There are hardware unlocks.
     
  3. yiannos9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #3
    what do you mean by hardaware and software unlocks?
    im new to this so i dont quite understand what that means.
    can u explain please?
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    A hardware unlock requires you to purchase a TurboSIM or something similar. You must stick it in your iPhone with another SIM to use the iPhone on a network other than the one to which it is locked.

    A software unlock is what can be done with the original iPhone; changes in the software itself allow for any SIM on any network to be used.
     
  5. yiannos9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #5
    do you happen to have any idea as to when a software unlock will be available?
     
  6. goobimama macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #6
    Actually, with the 2.2 firmware, even the hardware unlocks are not working. And if you have updated to 2.2, the prospects of getting a soft unlock are also very low.

    Take a look at the blog.iPhone-dev.org for updates on this whole thing. They are working on a software unlock (just like how you can the 2G iPhone)
     

Share This Page