Can i upgrade 1067MHz DDR? to 1333MHz DDR3?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Xtrician, Aug 21, 2011.

  1. Xtrician macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #1
    Hello,
    I have MacBook Pro 4GB with 1067MHz DDR3, can i upgrade it to Corsair 8GB 1333MHz DDR3? I doing problems or is working fine?

    Thanks
     
  2. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #2
    1333MHz DDR3 SODIMMs will work fine in an MBP using 1066MHz DDR3. Just make sure the RAM voltage is 1.5v. RAM certified for the 2011 MBP is good. If it's a 2010 or earlier MBP, the RAM will only run at 1066MHz. 1333MHz RAM is actually 1066MHz RAM certified to run at the higher speed.
     
  3. Xtrician thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #3
    ...

    Thanks for your replay.
    But my RAM is 1067 and not 1066. And my MBP is mid 2010.

    BTW: It is 1.5.

    So i take the risk and install it?
     
  4. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #4
    Why bother? Just get 1067 RAM and use that. 1333 MHz RAM won't run any faster in your MBP.
     
  5. Xtrician thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
  6. S7A2G6 macrumors member

    S7A2G6

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    America (**** Yeah)
    #6
    Rounding
     
  7. Kiriga macrumors newbie

    Kiriga

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    Somewhere in time...
    #7
    Inserting 1333 MHz RAM into a 1066 MHz machine, will not only work in 1333, but the modules will have also a bigger CAS Latency (9 i think, instead of 7 in the 1066 modules) which means loss of speed. Not noticable though, but that's a downgrade to me.
     
  8. Xtrician thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #8
    Can someone please give me a link to buy the right memory for:

    MacBook Pro 13" 1067MHz DDR3. Thats it :)

    Thanks!
     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
  10. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #10
    That's not necessarily the case.

    DIMMs have built in speed tables that tell the memory controller which latencies to use according to the clock speed, so at 1066MHz it will be 7-7-7-24, or 7-7-7-20 for higher performance RAM. At 1333MHz the usual setting is 9-9-9-27.

    When using high performance RAM on computers that use 1333MHz RAM, it may be possible to use CL7 at 1333MHz, but that requires access to the mainboard firmware settings.
     
  11. Xtrician thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #11
    But i need 1067 not 1066.
    Where can i find 1067 mhz?

    Thanks.
     
  12. BLOCKMONSTER macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #12
    Its the same thing. The link snaky69 gave is pretty good. My personal pref is G-Skill.
     
  13. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #13
    As stated in the previous post, they are identical.

    1066 is actually 1066.666666....., which rounded up equals 1067. The RAM spec truncates it to 1066MHz. In a similar manner, 1333MHz is actually 1333.3333...., but it rounds down. In actual use, the RAM speed may be one or two MHz +/-, depending on the system clock.
     

Share This Page