Can I upgrade a Mac Pro 4,1 CPU with a 3,1 CPU?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cbt3, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. cbt3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #1
    Let me clarify as I am sure I worded that in a very stupid manner;

    I have a 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 with x2 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz
    and due to an employee leaving my company, a (I think early 2010?) Mac Pro 4,1 x2 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.26 GHz.

    My initial instinct is to take the newer computer, however I would want to switch out the processors, even if its older. Is that possible? I would need to switch out other things as well, but lets take things one step at a time, the only things better on this computer when I looked at the specs were the motherboard (I assume, newer model) and the OS (10.5 vs 10.6),

    Is this something that can be done? is it even worth my time?
     
  2. JuniperMonkeys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #2
    Totally different socket — not economically possible. The 3,1s are LGA 771, and the 4,1s are LGA 1366. There are some pretty major architectural differences, too.

    However, you could sell the 2008 and use the proceeds to pick up a couple of used Xeon W5590s; that'd be a nice upgrade for the 4,1 :)

    I should also point out that the 2.26 4,1 actually Geekbenches a little higher than the 2.8 3,1 anyway. That isn't the final word on performance, of course, but there isn't as big a difference as the frequencies alone would suggest.
     
  3. cbt3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #3
    really? that seems counter-intuitive? are their other tests I could run on each system?
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    You aren't running 10.6 on your 2008 Mac Pro? I can understand why you may not have wanted to go to 10.7, but seriously you aren't on 10.6? I'd get someone on that right away even if you don't swap out for the 2009 (which you should!).
     
  5. bearcatrp, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012

    bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #5
    That 2010 dual quads use hyper threading so in fact 16 threads total. Whereas your 2008 dual quads are only 8 threads. Plus Nehelem processors are more efficient handling memory. Keep the 2010. You can always upgrade those processors. Memory is cheaper too on the 2010's. Here are the specs from apple
    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP506
     
  6. cbt3, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012

    cbt3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #6
    Well then, if it has hyper threading that changes everything, of course its going to be faster if its hyper threading and has virtually 16 cores.

    However, now that it seems obvious to switch, here comes the hard part. I have a SansDigiital External RAID enclosure on this old Mac. with a miniSAS card. Would I be able to just plop all that into the 2010 Mac and have it work? Like a regular external Hard drive? Or would I need to Backup all the data and start from scratch on the newer system?





    ----------

    No, I never got around to upgrading; it didn't seem like a big deal 10.5 is running stable
     
  7. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #7
  8. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    The 4,1 machines are from 2009, not 2010. If I had my choice between that and a 3,1, I'd definitely take the newer machine. As stated before: superior CPU architecture, faster memory access and much cheaper RAM.

    Plus, with a 5,1 firmware flash, you can run hex-core Westmere CPUs in it if you wanted to.

    Food for thought: I really want to push my current 3,1 Mac Pro past 16GB of RAM because of After Effects. But my wallet tells me no when the unbuffered DDR3 2009-2012 Mac Pros use is a 1/3 of the price.
     
  9. cbt3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #9
    Yeah, it is an "Early 2009" although I could have sworn that the girl who was using the computer started in 2010, I guess my memory serves me wrong
     
  10. JuniperMonkeys macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #10
    Well, it coulda' been purchased in 2010. The "2010" machines didn't come out until... hmm, July 27th, actually. Weird coincidence.
     
  11. cbt3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #11
    I am going to go ahead and do that, however my main concern now is transferring my areca ARC-1880x SAS Raid Controller into the new machine without losing any data, obviously I am backing up all my data now just in case, but if its possible to set up the chip on the new computer and have it just recognize the current RAID array in my miniSAS external enclosure that would save me a lot of time.
    Is that possible?

    ----------

    That is actually probably what happened then I think I bought it in the beginning of july, just missing the new machines... I know sometime soon after she started the 6-core macs came out, so I guess that puts a timeline on things...
     
  12. cbt3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    #12
    Well I did some benches at it confirms the assessment, that the new computer is better.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page