Resolved Can I upgrade Macbook Ram to 8GB

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by TT1TT, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. TT1TT, Oct 1, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011

    TT1TT macrumors newbie

    TT1TT

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #1
    Hello guys I have macbook 2010 (ram 4GB)
    and i want to upgrade it to 8GB , so the Q can i ?
    if no what about 6GB
    Thanks
     
  2. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  3. TT1TT, Oct 2, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011

    TT1TT thread starter macrumors newbie

    TT1TT

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #3
  4. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #4
    It will work. Those guys at the Apple Store are just like normal people: some know what they are talking about, others don't.

    Get your RAM from Crucial or OWC, both are excellent, and Crucial is cheaper.
     
  5. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Apple said you can't because they themselves don't support 8GB. But if you get 3rd party RAM and install it you'll find it actually does work.
     
  6. TT1TT thread starter macrumors newbie

    TT1TT

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #6
    thank you so much man i will buy this : http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-CT2KI...1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1317596894&sr=1-1



    thank you
     
  7. Maschil macrumors 6502a

    Maschil

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #7
    please dont pay someone to put it in for you... i'lll make a tutorial for you myself (video).... its a piece of cake to put it in... also....
     
  8. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #8
    Yes.. Most people get their RAM from OWC.
     
  9. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Yeah look up a good tutorial (with pictures) on the internet!
     
  10. Krad3130 macrumors regular

    Krad3130

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    #10
  11. Krad3130 macrumors regular

    Krad3130

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
  12. rubencito, Oct 3, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011

    rubencito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #12
    mac memory

    Buying RAM for Intel Macs

    Main Article Buying RAM

    The most-recommended USA sellers on MacRumors are Data Memory Systems, OWC (MacSales) and Crucial (use the link at the top of the forum pages to help support MacRumors). Another popular memory vendor is Ramjet. The Kingston KTA-MBxxx/xG series are good too, Kingston do not guarantee Mac compatibility with their ValueRAM series. Big-box discounters Newegg, Frys are popular for bargain-seekers, but usually offer no guarantee of compatibility or support on their generic RAM, so the buyer is responsible for choosing and testing. Keep that in mind, but don't let it scare you away from good deals. Since Intel macs use pretty standard hardware, memory compatibility is not as big of an issue as it used to be. The chances of memory not working in your Mac are about the same as on a comparable PC.

    Look for a reputable seller with good shipping and return policies (no shipping or restocking charges on DOA RAM, for example), and good customer service. On all Macs except the Mac Pro, avoid RAM with heatspreaders; they will have issues physically fitting in iMacs, Mac minis and MacBooks.

    Internationally, look for a seller in your country or economic zone. Some US sellers will ship internationally, but the buyer will be responsible for taxes, duties and customs brokerage. Insurance and shipping will be higher. International buyers are almost always responsible for shipping and border costs both ways for warranty replacements, so factor these costs into your decision.
     
  13. TT1TT thread starter macrumors newbie

    TT1TT

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #13
    BIG THANKS GUYS


    FOR ANY ONE WHANTS TO TRY HERE IS THE BEST VIDEO
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PnCOFAVLZw




    IF YOU DON'T MAIND CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT IS THE BEST HARD DRIVE FOR MAC
    I WANT TO BUY THIS ONE BUT I AM NOT SURE :(
    http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Momen...5005620AS-Bare/dp/B003NSBF32/ref=pd_cp_e_pw_3
     
  14. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #14
    Please, if you're going to quote a big article from the internet, give us the source. It's obvious you didn't write this whole thing up, so don't pretend like you did.

    There is no "best HDD for Mac". You will get mixed opinions on this, and it will be up to you to choose what you like best. Personally, I like Western Digital and Seagate, and the one you chose is a great drive. Other people will tell you that WD is the worst HDD company in the world but they love Seagate, others will tell you the reverse, and still others will recommend Hitachi or Toshiba. It comes down to personal experience.

    Some people claim (and I'm not saying their claims are not true) that they've had 5 WD HDDs fail in a row, but never one from Seagate. The same could happen from any other HDD manufacturer. The thing with HDDs is they are guaranteed to fail at some point. They have moving parts, and those parts will wear out eventually. People have had massive issues with all the major HDD manufacturers, but I've found that it seems like WD and Seagate have the highest success rate.

    Whatever drive you choose, it should be 7200 rpm, which is significantly faster than the default 5400 rpm and doesn't generally use much more power.

    TL;DR: You picked a good HDD, I recommend Seagate or WD. Others may recommend otherwise, you'll have to make your own decision.
     
  15. TT1TT thread starter macrumors newbie

    TT1TT

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    #15


    thanks man




    i have a problem i bought 8GB kingstone 2 stickshttp://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0053G6GI6?tag=5336090759-20


    and when i want to install it and run it
    i have a sound from the computer and the screen is black
    i removed 1 stick kingston and replace it by the old one so ( 4GB kingston + 2GB apple ) = 6GB
    and it works but i need to have 8GB any idea what i have to do to let 8GB run


    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • s.png
      s.png
      File size:
      42 KB
      Views:
      59
  16. Centient macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #16
    I would keep the Apple stick in there and remove the Kingston that is working and replace it with the other one. If you run into problems then you've probably got a bad memory stick. You'll need to return it.

    Just an fyi... I upgraded my two 2010 Macbooks to 8GB of Crucial Memory, and a 500GB WD Scorpio Black HDD. Everything is working great. I like the Black series from WD as they offer 5 year warranty replacement on that model, and the WD RMA process is really easy.

    Good luck.
     
  17. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #17
    Also, if the sticks you got are at a higher speed than when the MacBook calls for, that can cause issues. Sometimes you get an issue where it won't boot if it doesn't find at least one stick that matches the correct speed. Catch is, if you have one stick that is the correct speed, the other stick will work, even if it's the "wrong" speed.

    What do you need 8 GB for on your MacBook? Not saying you shouldn't put any effort into making it work, just wondering what you're doing on your MacBook that needs 8 GB RAM?
     
  18. rubencito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #18
     
  19. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #19
    By posting an article as your post you are claiming to have written it, whether that's your intent or not. Just like if you asked me to research something and I took a Wikipedia article, stripped out everything that identified it as such, and then handed it to you.

    I truly believe that you didn't intend to claim that you actually wrote it. All it takes is 3 seconds' copy/paste and you're all set.
     
  20. jackc macrumors 65816

    jackc

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    #20
    I asked someone at Crucial because they only listed the 4 GB upgrade for the 2010 Macbook, they said that's all it supports. I assume they are just not listing the unofficial maximum?
     
  21. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #21
    Correct.
     
  22. rubencito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #22
  23. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #23
    i just upgraded mine macbook Late 2009 to 8Gb Kingston 1333Mhz! it does support but i dont know why i dont feel some better performance of my mac!! boot time is same as before! iPhoto runs faster though!!
     
  24. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #24
    Well, your Mac is downclocking your RAM to 1066 MHz, and more RAM doesn't mean a faster Mac if the previous amount of RAM you had was sufficient. If you had 4 GB RAM before and were never running over that amount, then 8 GB isn't really going to do anything.
     

Share This Page