Can i upgrade my CPU?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sharpey76, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Sharpey76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,
    im fairly new to macs so im sorry for whats probably a stupid question but i have a macpro 5.1 with a 2.8ghz quad core intel xeon cpu and wondered if i can replace that with a another cpu say a faster quad or a six core?
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    Yep. Lots of threads on upgrading from Quad Core to Six Core.
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Search this forum for the term W3680 and you will find loads of information :)
     
  4. Sharpey76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    thanks paulrbeers,
    So its the W3680 Xeon 3.33ghz that i would need is that correct

    ----------

    haha thanks Umbongo we must have posted at the same time i didnt see you post until after :)
     
  5. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #5
  6. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #6
    Just to point out that the 4,1 (2009) and the 5,1 (2010) are the same model so you can use the 2009 tutorial to upgrade the 2010
     
  7. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    Lots of info on it. 970 i7 is a very good CPU with 6 cores. Should find it for under $400 too.
     
  8. Melbourne Park macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #8
    Not worth the $200 saving. You loose error protected memory. The machine becomes less stable. You've wasted your investment in 9 bank memory (which is why Mac pro memory costs a bit more), whereas i7 just needs 8. ECC needs a Xeon to work. You won't be able to sell the current CPU, because no one would want to buy a Mac Pro with the totally wrong processor.
     

Share This Page