Can I upgrade my iMac CPU?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mac000, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. mac000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #1
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Nope. It's soldiered on. That would also melt it, even if desktop and laptop chips were interchangeable, and they're not.
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
  4. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #4
    What do you mean by socket, can it be popped out and replaced?
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    1. Your chip won't even work.
    2. The iMac's chips are soldered on, I believe, so unless you want to desolder every single pin and then replace with a chip that actually works (not the one you linked to), don't try.
     
  6. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #6
    so imac's just can't be upgraded?
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    RAM and HDD. Other than that, no.
     
  8. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    And to upgrade the HDD, you have to disassemble the iMac, and void your warranty.

    Don
     
  9. craig1410 macrumors 65816

    craig1410

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    They do hold their value very well so best way to "upgrade" is to buy a refurb then sell it a year later privately and buy another refurb of the latest model. It will cost you a bit but by buying a refurb in the first place you will minimise your losses and will probably spend no more than you would upgrading the CPU alone.

    Personally, I'm taking a different approach - I'm treating my iMac as a 5 year investment and have bought Applecare to keep it under warranty for the first three years. So far it is 18 months old and still feels like new so I'm confident it will last me for at least 3, possibly 5 years before I feel compelled to buy a new one. At that time I'll probably just keep the old machine as a spare or for my kids.

    Craig.
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    The voiding only occurs if you break something while you are in there.
     
  11. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #11
    Or if you decide to remove the "warranty void if removed" stickers.
     
  12. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #12
    Once again Tallest Skil is just guessing at what he doesn't know anything about. The CPU is NOT soldered to the logicboard and it IS upgradable, just not to that quad you want.

    A simple google search will find this guide on how to upgrade your CPU:
    http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=11295&page=1
     
  13. oneEG6 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #13
    The voiding occurs the second you open your iMac up, since you're not an authorized Apple service technician. If Apple has to service the machine there are several ways to tell if it has been worked on previously.
     
  14. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    The 2.4Ghz Core 2 is darn fast anyway. Why do you need a quad, out of interest?
     

Share This Page