Can i upgrade my imac processor???

Discussion in 'iMac' started by appleiskool, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. appleiskool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #1
    hello i have the late 2009 imac 21.5 inch. it has an intel core 2 duo processor. i was wondering if i could upgrade the processor to an i5 or i7. if i couldnt do that because the socket is different, could i at least upgrade it to a Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Processor AT80569PJ073N - 2.83GHz, 12MB Cache, 1333MHz FSB, Yorkfield, Quad-Core, Socket 775, OEM?? would everything be okay because when i play my games on my computer it lags and applications take a while to load up. if i couldnt do that processor, what is the best processor i can upgrade too? Also (even if that intel core 2 quad does work) what is the best processor i could upgrade to?? thanks for any help!!
     
  2. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #2
    Quick Answer: No
     
  3. SamTheeGeek macrumors 6502

    SamTheeGeek

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    The switch from Core2Duo to iX eliminated the traditional Intel FSB -- so a bit more than a simple socket change.

    So different sockets, architecture, etc. -- so NO WAY IN HELL.

    Even Nvidia is locked out right now in going from Core2Duo to i3/i5/i7.

    ---

    Upgrading to a same socket CPU, for the Mac you will run into the problem of no support for some of the processors made after your machine.

    And since Apple doesn't provide firmware updates to add new CPUs to old machines.

    You are stuck with the EXACT CPUs that have been tested to work in your machine -- which means familiarity with CPU runs/versions/etc. within a class of CPU and what is tested to work with the motherboard.

    Basically easier to sell the machine and buy a new one.
     
  5. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #5
    Clarkdales have different socket and chipset, so you'd need a new mobo alltogether. Someone on here already tried upgrading to core2quad, and it was unsuccessful.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    There are C2Qs that use either E0 or R0 steppings, just like E7600 and E8600. However, as it has been said, it has been tried and it didn't work with Q9400 (which actually came almost a year before E7600) though that is 95W chip compared to 65W chips used in 21.5" iMac (PSU may not be beefy enough?).

    Basically, a 65W C2Q with right stepping might work but this is nothing more but speculation. Maybe there are some deeper differences between C2Ds and C2Qs. If someone is stupid enough to teardown his iMac and try range of C2Qs, then we might know :p

    Seriously OP, you're better off selling it and buying a new one
     

Share This Page