Can I upgrade my MacPro 2008 Quad Core to a 6-Core Intel Xeon?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by clank72, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. clank72, Aug 23, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2011

    clank72 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #1
    My 2008 is still pretty quick. But every once in a while it might need a kick in the butt.

    Is there a way to switch out my Quad Cores to 6-Core Intel Xeon's? I've never done it before but I'm pretty handy with electronics.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    No, they are incompatible sockets and firmware.
     
  3. clank72 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #3
    OK.

    So I'm pretty much maxed out then?

    I have 2 x 2.8 Quad's
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    You may be able to upgrade to 2 x 3.0 quad, but the difference would be insignificant enough that it wouldn't be worth it.
     
  5. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    2x X5482 3.2 is max - Hexus.net did that: http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=11938

    I grabbed a pair of E5472 they have better TDP.

    Only SLANZ stepping is supported. SLB** won't work.
     
  6. drrbc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #6
    How do you know this? Can you provide the source?

    Oh, and sorry to resurrect the dead, but it's what I do...


    Robert

    3.3Ghz MacPro1,1
    2X BSEL/VID'd Intel Confidential X5350's
    Koolance and EK waterblocks to GeoThermal loop cooling
    12GB 667 FB-DIMMs
    2.5TB (total) twin internal striped RAID arrays
    .45 Longslide (laser sighting)
    ATI 5770 to 2X 30in. Apple Cinema Displays
    40 watt Phased plasma rifle
    Internal Pioneer BDR-205
     

Share This Page