Can i upgrade my processor ??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cerisk, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. cerisk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #1
    I have Apple MacBook Pro "Core 2 Duo" 2.6 15" (08). As stated it has Core 2 duo 2.5 gig processor. Can i upgrade it to new processor. I would want to upgrade it to i5 processor if possible ?? Is it possible or not ?? If not to i5 than than is it possible to any other superior processor ??
    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #3
    Processors are built in to the main board of the machine and are the most integral part, they are built in in laptops to save space. You can upgrade them in desktop pcs, but not laptops.
     
  3. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #4
    Not all laptops, but this is correct in this case.
     
  4. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #5
    considering the nature and complexity of the question i thought it was best to keep things simple.:)
     
  5. daleski75 macrumors 68000

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
  6. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #7
    Very true. You're now living in the closed, locked down, highly proprietary environment of AppleLand where you're expected to buy a new computer with the CPU of Apples choice :)
     
  7. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Most laptops don't have upgradeable CPU's, it's got nothing to do with Apple specifically.
     
  8. AlexBass macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #9
    Although it isn't possible to upgrade the CPU, it is possible to purchase a more powerful logic board specifically for the 15" 2008 MBP. The problem with this is it costs A LOT and it's really worth just purchasing a new computer altogether instead.

    You can also overclock the CPU if you want by running windows on bootcamp and using a program called msi afterburner & combustor.
     
  9. PAPO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    even if you could the chipsets have changed, so you can't put an i5 on a C2D chipset motherboard
     

Share This Page