Can I upgrade right now?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by cclloyd, Jul 25, 2013.

1. cclloyd macrumors 68000

cclloyd

If I have the iOS 7 ipsw file right now, am I able to upgrade (An iPad 2 to be exact) to iOS 7 and have it work? Asking because of the issues with the developer portal recently.

2. bbfc macrumors 68030

bbfc

If you are a developer then you can install it. If you are not, you can only upgrade from iOS 6. Do not restore.

3. cclloyd thread starter macrumors 68000

cclloyd

Yea I know because I'm a dev I can. I mean, are the activation servers working?

4. sero323 macrumors regular

I wouldn't risk it bro. I did hear the activation servers are down and apple checks your ios 7 update with their servers which are still down. I wouldn't do it unless there is a way to revert back to ios 6 (which idk if you can or not)

5. Tander macrumors 6502a

Tander

Updated the iPhone 4 test device to beta 3 yesterday - no issues.

6. SanjeevRana macrumors 6502a

SanjeevRana

Follow these steps since Activation Servers are still down :-

1. Take backup while in iOS6
    2. Reset to factory setting and setup as new (DO NOT RESTORE BACKUP), skip all the initial steps like Apple ID/iCloud
    3. Now use the Option+Update button and select the ipsw
    4. Once done and back to home screen restore your last iOS6 Backup

Btw, best to change the iPhone Name in iOS7 to keep the last iOS6 backup untouched.

7. Night Spring macrumors G5

Night Spring

What is the difference between updating from an existing iOS 6 installation and updating from a fresh iOS 6 *then* restoring the backup? In other words, what difference does it make whether the data is already there when you update as opposed to loading it in after the update?

Also, changing the device name doesn't prevent overwriting the backup. iTunes keeps track of backups by device UDID, not device names. To make sure your backup doesn't get overwritten, copy it to another location.

8. thegrants82 macrumors 65816