Can i Upgrade the hdd to 500 gb in the black macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by cpr05, May 5, 2015.

  1. cpr05 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
  2. JTToft, May 5, 2015
    Last edited: May 5, 2015

    JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #2
    Assuming you mean this, then yes you can.
    And that charger looks to be of the right type, but I'd really advise against buying non-Apple MagSafe adapters. Get a proper one from Apple.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. cpr05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #3
    Thanks so i need some help installing mac os what veirson and how to do for free
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    - Then you're going to need to provide some more information...

    Which version of OS X are you running now? Which vintage is your MacBook (shown in About This Mac in the Apple menu)? Do you have an external hard drive enclosure? Do you have a Time Machine backup of your current hard drive?
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Use the discs that came with the MacBook. Or find a cheap copy of Snow Leopard on ebay, or you can buy a new copy from Apple for $30.
     
  6. cpr05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #6
    Well the hdd is blank old one died and i have another mac available could i download old osx verisonfrom mac app store purchased and make installer usb?
     
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    You aren't answering any of the questions being asked.

    Do you have the original discs that came with the computer?

    What vintage MacBook do you have?

    Which version of OSX do you need?

    Do you have a time machine backup?
     
  8. cpr05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #8
    I wouldnt mind lion or mountain lion i have a freind who has purchased all veiorsons of mac osx post leopard.

    i have late 2007 black macbook a1181.

    NO backup

    No discs.

    Got it from a freind without hdd or battery
     
  9. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #9
    - That machine will support OS X Lion at the most, but only if it has at least 2 GB of RAM (check About This Mac).

    You can:
    Download Lion from the App Store using your friend's ID, and then use DiskMaker X to create a bootable installation USB from which you can install it.
    I don't know if the App Store part is legal though...

    Otherwise you'll have to make do with Snow Leopard and for that you'll have to source some original retail installation discs.
     
  10. Dayv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #10
    You could also take it to an Apple store or another customer support place to have someone replace it and reinstall the OS for you. Get a price quote first and don't be afraid to shop around for a good deal.
     
  11. cpr05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #11
    Thanks thats what ill do when i get my battery
     
  12. brdeveloper macrumors 68020

    brdeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Brasil
    #12
    The BlackBook is still a sexy machine these days. Drop a cheap 128GB SSD on it and have fun. Lion is still a decent OS.

    Actually, even Snow Leopard is usable, but its Safari can't properly render some sites.
     
  13. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #13
    - It really is. I've been looking at buying a used one just because they're so gorgeous, but it's proving hard to find one in decent shape - the cracked plastic really bothers me...
     
  14. cpr05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    #14
    Yeah this one i have has no cracks but has lines on screen you guys know about that?
     
  15. usernames.taken macrumors member

    usernames.taken

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    Australia
    #15

    Aren't all apple computers licensed to run at least the version of OS/X that they came with? Im just wondering why it wouldn't be "legal"? Upgrades are a different question, not sure.
     
  16. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #16
    - Not specifically, but it's likely a GPU or screen problem, depending on what sort of lines. Nothing to be done except replace the part that's responsible, I'm afraid.

    - I was wondering about the software license, since Lion cost money when it was released, and then it would have belonged to the friend. There might be some terms that dictate it must not be used by anyone other than the purchaser, but I don't know if there is.
     

Share This Page