Can i upgrade to this?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by xxjrsmith3xx, Oct 26, 2014.

  1. xxjrsmith3xx macrumors member

    xxjrsmith3xx

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    #1
  2. KrisLord macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #2
    Yes, but it may be worth reading up on how Mac's use RAM. Free ram is a waste so OS X tried to avoid having any free.
     
  3. Richard8655, Oct 26, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2014

    Richard8655 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    posted in error. didn't realize user wanted to unevenly use memory.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    If you aren't actually using it, then it's a waste. Unless your memory "pressure" reached Red status (mavericks) or you have a high level of page outs (mt lion or prior) then having a crap load of RAM is a.c. Waste of money. If all you do is Office and surf the net then what good is 16gb? Having 16gb and needing 16gb are two entirely different things....

    ----------

    Is your RAM in red stays in activity monitor?
     
  5. Richard8655 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    This doesn't consider potential future use for the most cost effective purchase of memory upgrade. I assume no one wants to upgrade memory twice and waste the modules you have now, so it might be best to implement the best memory upfront.
     
  6. xxjrsmith3xx thread starter macrumors member

    xxjrsmith3xx

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    #6
    Hey man no it wasn't I had no idea about that but i went ahead and got it anyways just 72$ for a 8GB what I want is an SSD now. I moved from windows and this is just amazing :):apple:
     
  7. cinealta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #7
    Congrats! Welcome to Macintosh! You'll find that the Apple way is not just a computer but a lifestyle.
     
  8. xxjrsmith3xx thread starter macrumors member

    xxjrsmith3xx

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    #8
    Any where you can guide me for tips and tricks with mac mini and also OS X ?
     
  9. loud0g40oz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    #9
    Or you could just max it out and stop worrying about how much ram each program is using.
     
  10. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #10
    If it's in the red it's already really bad. If you are in the yellow a lot it's time to think about a ram upgrade.
     
  11. cinealta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #11
    Just read up on the threads here, especially if you also have iDevices. Read any threads on the OSX version you're running (eg Mavericks or Yosemite) especially for tips on customizing performance.
     
  12. Micky Do macrumors 68000

    Micky Do

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Location:
    An island in the Andaman Sea.
    #12
    Yes….. I have the original 1 GB along side an additional 4 GB in my 2009 Mini. A friend has 2 GB plus 8 GB in his iMac. Both work fine.
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    I have a 2012 Mini with the original 2gb RAM module in the "lower slot" (when opened), and a replacement 8gb module in the upper slot.

    Runs fine, no problems.
     

Share This Page