Can I upgrade?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BlindSoul, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. BlindSoul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #1
    Hello.

    My dad has a Mac Pro, Not sure what year is it , And It could be great if you could help me find out.
    The specs are:
    Intel 2X 2.66 Ghz Dual Core Intel Xeon
    Memory 3GB DDR2 667Mhz
    And a Graphic card of nVidia 7300 GT 256mb.

    Now, He got a Mac OSX Tiger 14.11 , And I've been wondering if it's possible for him to upgrade to Mac OSX Snow Leopard, And if will it work fine on it? Or he should better stay with the Tiger OS...

    He's mostly using applications like Adobe Photoshop , Illustrator and all these graphics Adobe ones...

    Thank you so much! :)
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Yup, just buy the SL disk and it will work fine
     
  3. MrFusion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    West-Europe
    #3
    Lion is coming out next week. Why not upgrade to that?
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Lion is being announced next week, it may not be available next week
     
  5. BlindSoul thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #5
    Well yeah , I'm quite sure it's possible . Just mostly asking, If the computer won't be very laggy and slow, Because SL Is much more heavy...
    And I'm quite sure Lion might be even SLOWER.
     
  6. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #6
    My computer came with Tiger and it's running Snow Leopard now. It runs great!!!
    In fact my iMac has similar specs to your dad's machine, so it'll be just fine.
    (lion also works fine on my computer so i'd imagine it'd be fine for you as well.)
     
  7. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #7
    SL is actually a lighter OS than Tiger it's much more refined.
     
  8. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #8
    Snow Leopard won't even blink at running full speed on that machine, it's more than capable of handling it. Lion will likely run just fine, too.

    jW
     
  9. BlindSoul thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #9
    Oh... I really didn't know that. I thought Mac OS Versions it's just like on Windows... Windows XP > Windows 7 And such... Windows 7 is much more heavy than XP...

    OK Well, Thanks! :)
     
  10. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #10
    According to some other threads, you have to have SL to get Lion since Lion is only going to be available from the App Store, and that requires SL.
     

Share This Page