Can I use an iPhone as an iPod touch?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iboy38, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. iboy38 macrumors member

    iboy38

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    #1
    I want to trade my iPod touch for an iPhone 2G and use it as an iPod with speakers, mic, and a camera. If i get a unlocked one from ebay can i use it without inserting a sim card at all?
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Yes. But you have to jailbreak it, and "hacktivate" it while jailbreaking it. Or if you have a friend with an AT&T sim, you can simply insert it, and the plug the phone into iTunes, and it will be activated and then you can take that sim back out and be good to go. :D
     
  3. iboy38 thread starter macrumors member

    iboy38

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    #3
    is that for the 3GS or 2G?
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    Any iPhone.
     
  5. ThatsMeRight macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    #5
    Note that both the 3G and 3Gs have much better speakers than the 2G.
     
  6. iboy38 thread starter macrumors member

    iboy38

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    #6
    So your saying that if I buy a used iPhone that is unlocked from ebay and hook it up to itunes that AT&T activation page won't pop up?
     
  7. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #7
    If you're using it without a SIM, it don't even need to be unlocked.
     
  8. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #8
    If you buy an Original iPhone, when eer a new OS update comes out, you will need the Original Sim that was used with it or wait for the dev team to hactivate it. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3406 << Link tells you about the Original iPhone. If you do update the OS, you will need to activate the iPhone through iTunes If you don't have a sim card unless you hactivate it. I'm not sure, but I think the iPhone 3G and 3GS, just need an active ATT sim cvard and connected to iTunes. I don't think it needs to be on a plan.
     

Share This Page