Can I use an iPhone JUST for Pictures?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Milew23, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. Milew23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #1
    I have an iPhone 6 that is in the box, still. I currently use an android. I love the iPhone camera and quality of the bust shots. What do I need to do in order to not activate the phone, but still use it take take pictures and transfer them to my computer?
     
  2. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
  3. Enygmatic macrumors 6502a

    Enygmatic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Location:
    Various
    #3
    ...don't put a SIM card in? Just 'Skip' through the Setup screens, connect to wifi, and have at it.
     
  4. BeeGood macrumors 65816

    BeeGood

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Location:
    Lot 23E. Somewhere in Georgia.
    #4
    You will need to put your sim in to complete setup (activation), but after it's done you can take the sim out and put it back in your android phone.
     
  5. Milew23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    #5
    I know that lol. But won't it try to activate or can I use it without a sim? That wasn't a very good explanation man haha. Can you be more specific? I know "turning" on an iPhone automatically tried to have you activate and set it up, which is what I do not want to do.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    The SIM's are different sizes my friend so I Cannot simply swap them. I just want to take photos with the iPhone, not activate and deactivate it. Is this possible, and how?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2016 ---
    Why was there a question mark when you said "don't put the sim card in?" Was that a question or were you actually saying no to insert the sim?
     
  6. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    When you start it up for the first time you will have to "activate" it, which simply means bypass this initial screen. You can use an old inactive sim, a friend's sim, or any nano sim you can find laying around. Once you get past this initial screen you can take the sim out, toss it or whatever, and be good to go to use it as a camera etc...
     
  7. rainafterthesun macrumors 6502

    rainafterthesun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    Go to the Apple Store and ask them for a SIM card that would fit in your 6, explain to them that you just want to activate it but your current sim doesn't fit.

    They'll understand and get you one.

    It'll be blank e.g. no number attached, so there's nothing to really "activate" but it'll trick the phone into thinking there is.

    And that's all you really need to get the phone working past the set up screen--tricking it to thinking there's going to be an activation with a SIM card.
     
  8. irod87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #8
    Once you get past initial setup you can use it with no service as just a camera. It will have to go through the initial "activation" before you get to the home screen.
     
  9. chino-rican macrumors member

    chino-rican

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia
  10. BeeGood macrumors 65816

    BeeGood

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Location:
    Lot 23E. Somewhere in Georgia.
    #10
    Hmmm. I think you'll need to do what @rainafterthesun suggested above. They should be able to pop a dummy sim into it to get you past that step and get the phone running.

    Unless you have a friend who has a phone that uses a nano-sim. You could just pop theirs in as well.
     
  11. Conan86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    There's no way to activate an iPhone without a SIM card. You can remove the SIM card completing the activation process and everything will work.

    The SIM card does not need to be an active one though so you can actually look for old deactivated nano SIM or simply cut larger deactivated SIM cards if you manage to find any..
     
  12. bcemail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    #12
    Be sure to post some of those bust shots.
     
  13. JayJohnPaul macrumors regular

    JayJohnPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Location:
    Dawnbreak City
    #13
    Dude, cross over to the dark side. We've got cookies.
     
  14. porkrind macrumors member

    porkrind

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    #14
    For what you're paying for an iPhone to only use as a camera, you could just buy a far better camera. This doesn't make any sense. The iPhone 7+ has a great camera as far as phones go, but it's not a great camera by itself.
     
  15. HippieMagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #15
    I mean I have to agree here. For the price of a new iPhone you could buy an amazing camera that would blow any iPhone away. For what you could sell that 6 for you could buy a pretty good one on par or better AND have the ability to swap out memory cards easily.

    If you insist on carrying around another phone with you... you could easily just grab a sim card for less than $5 off Amazon. It's a nano sim. I paid $4 for the Verizon one in my iPad. I thought iPhones came with an Apple sim, though. I may be wrong.

    I seriously doubt the iPhone 6 camera is as good as the camera on your new phone. It wasn't really the most amazing camera in the world.
     

Share This Page