Can i use better RAM in my Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Riggaz, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. Riggaz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    Hi

    Long time reader, first time poster. Have a question for you. I am currently looking to upgrade my stock RAM in my White Macbook. Can i use better Ram or do i need to use the same type. Below for details

    2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo (Early 2008 White Macbook)

    Currently has 2GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    Am i able to put 4GB of better RAM or do i need to use the 667? (like 100*Mhz or DDR3 etc..)


    Thanks

    :)
     
  2. Riggaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #3
    Excellent Thanks!

    Two more questions, do you know the best place in the UK to order RAM online?

    Does my Macbook come with 2 x1GB or 1x2? Can i find out without opening it? Prefer not to have to buy 4 more gigs only 2

    cheers
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    They ship with 2x1GB, so to upgrade to 4 you need to buy 2x2gb.
     
  4. JonBorichef macrumors regular

    JonBorichef

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    #6
    I ordered directly from Apple's website.

    Cheers
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Half price at ebuyer for the same RAM.
     
  6. Riggaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
  7. Riggaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #9
    one more question - whats the maximum amount of ram i can put in it?
     
  8. Macdctr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #11
    OP,

    You can put in 6GB (1X4GB module and 1X2GB module) total. I am currently set up like that in my MacBook.:D
     

Share This Page