Can I use Bootcamp and Vista with a FAT32 partition?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by sonictonic, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #1
    I've heard both yes and no, and need to know which is correct! :p

    Right now I have a MacBook with a 15GB FAT32 partition for Windows XP and its worked out very well for me. I use Windows occasionally, and when I have I haven't had any problems. It's also been really convenient to be able to read and write to my Windows folders while in OS X... I understand I'd lose that ability if I use NTFS, is that right?

    So, I'm lucky enough to be getting the new MacBook Pro very soon for my birthday ( :D !!!) and I'd like to install Vista on a ~25GB FAT32 partition. Is this do-able?

    I heard about some program called MacFuse to give access to writing on an NTFS drive in OS X, and allow you to change the icon, name, etc, but it looks really complicated. I'm computer savvy but I haven't learned how to use the Terminal stuff yet and command line stuff, that's just way over my head. :eek:

    Help?

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #2
    You cannot install Vista in a FAT32 partition, I really don't know why, but you can't.

    As for MacFuse, it isn't that complicated, but I have heard it still has some flaws.
     
  3. cjc343 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    In the apple store, in front of a G5.
    #3
    If you haven't bought Vista yet, ask yourself what about Vista is going to be better than XP.

    It's entirely possible that you have a legitimate reason, and I'm not trying to argue that you don't, just saying that I've found Vista worse than XP in many ways, and if you haven't used it yet and determined that there is something that Vista has to offer and XP doesn't that you need or want, you may want to try it out first.
     
  4. mags631 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #4
    No on Vista intalling on a FAT32 partition. Yes, Vista can read FAT32--the installer just won't install on it.

    The default Vista install consumes approximately 7GB of hard drive space; you also need 1 to 4 GB for your virtual memory. So, 25GB would leave you with 14-16 GB of usable drive space. Is that enough for what you want to install on it??
     
  5. sonictonic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #5
    Yeah, that would be enough. Maybe I'd give it 5 or 10 more to be safe though, thanks for the info.

    I'm bummed about not being able to use FAT32, I know it seems lame but I want a pretty icon on my Mac Desktop for Windows not the basic HD icon too, lol.

    If anyone has any tips please do post them here. Thanks again.


    EDIT:
    Just found out from another post I can use CandyBar to change the icon even if it is NTFS formatted. Very cool! So- now the hurdle is not being able to read AND write to the Vista partition from OS X... Should I just deal with it and use a USB drive or something to transfer files over to Vista? Or is there any way to install Vista on the NTFS partition and then change it to FAT32? If it's possible, is that safe to do?
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Candybar will enable you to put an icon on the drive, you may be able to do it with Cmd+I and pasting it but I am away from my Mac so can't test but i know for certain that candybar will allow you to do this.
     
  7. sonictonic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #7
    LOL x, thanks. I just found that out. I guess everyone knew but me :D
     
  8. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #8
    I wonder if you ever will be able to install with FAT32? What do you do if you need more than 32GB?
     
  9. sonictonic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #9
    It sounds like you're confused. The limit on FAT32 is 32GB. NTFS doesn't have that limit.
     

Share This Page